Tuesday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 10th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This day started with my computer freezing up in the middle of my posting my blog entry after midnight and spending an hour and a half on the phone with Sony to get rid of 27 (of course!) viruses that were infecting it! At 2:30 I crashed and slept in till 10.

I left the apt at 11:30 for lunch with a woman I knew back in the Chicago days, who is living in NY and found out I was here. We ate at the Amish restaurant in Tribeca, where she lives, and it was really nice to see her. She is a writer and has a published book about her mother, whose name I don't have but will get! From the restaurant I walked west to the Hudson River, heading to the Jewish History and Holocaust Museum. I spent about two and a half hours in the museum, and although it's not something one enjoys, it was completely moving and worth the time.

I emerged from the museum and continued walking northeast around the river, where I happened upon the Staten Island Ferry, which I had not taken since the 70's. So I hopped on and rode it over, got off, caught the next one and rode it back. It was a lovely way to see the Statue of Liberty from the water as well as Ellis Island, the NY skyline and part of NJ. Just a beautiful day to be on the water.

When I got off the boat I found my way to the subway and met Neal in Tribeca, where we walked to 2nd Ave. and 26th St. to see Val in a play. She has several friends from the drama department at U of A who have ended up in NY and they got together to do a play they had adapted, called "If Girls asked Boys for Dates," at a small theater in Gramercy Park. It was very funny and just fun to see Val do her thing!

By 9:30 I was on a subway home, and after Glee and The Good Wife, I will try to get to some sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



11th May 2011

thinking of you
Hi Girlfriend, I continue to ba amazed by this adventure of yours and it is so mych fun to hear about all the great theater and other experiences you are having. I am jealous for sure, and just thinking about all the fun movies, meals, doughnuts and fun times we hav eshared. Maybe some day you, Mau and I can do a trip to the Big Apple (in a few hundred years) and do a mini trip. This is a trip of a filetime, eh??? My life is so boring I dont even have news to report to you. Ethan will be 2 next month. I have him and Jayden for one full week starting on May 18th. I am sort of nervous, getting them off to school and Day Care daily but David promises to help. It should be fun!!!! Love you big time dear friend.......G.
19th May 2011

oh dear, i'm frustrated for you over your computer! what a mess! I hope it's working ok now. It looks like you've had some pretty nice weather! When I go to the city with Nyrie, we take the Staten Island Ferry, how fun! Great views of the city. I'm so glad you have been so consistent in your blogging! If only I could keep up like you do..... HAVE FUN!!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb