Impressions of New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 17th 2011
Published: April 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

The crowds, and the large seving sizes are the main memories of New York. Obviously the crowds were expected but it's still hard to get used to. Especially the queuing everywhere - changing rooms in shops, cash registers to pay, entry into shops, and most especially any tourist attractions.

The meals are so huge we know now to only order appetizers or sides. Even the entrees are massive. The exception and the best restaurants we've been to are the French and Italian ones. 

The distances we've been walking must be close to a half marathon a day. Our muscles are certainly sore by the end of the day. The girls are doing so well keeping up.

The footwear of choice for the locals seems to be Ugg boots or gumboots which is quite appropriate given the weather we've been experiencing.

The whole week we've been in New York my face has had the texture of cardboard and bags under my eyes big enough to carry all our shopping. I've narrowed it down to lack of water, lack of fruit, lack of vegetables, bland processed american food, hotel air-conditioning, pollution, and jetlag.   It was no wonder that the clarins lady in bloomingdales plucked me out of the crowd thinking I was a sure bet to buy some miracle products to improve the situation. I succumbed to her half face trial secretly hoping there was such miracle products as normally I hate and avoid such high pressure selling demonstrations.  The cooling creams felt lovely going on and I thought I could see one wrinkle less on the side she did but the girls and Gerard were the ultimate judges and couldn't spot a single difference. I think the lady was stunned that I was happy to do a runner with only half my face done.   She was going to do the other half but I didn't fancy more sales talk.  And it wasn't as if everyone was going to point and stare at my half done face. Although she obviously thought that was a strong possibility. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb