And so we come to the end.....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 11th 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving FloridaLeaving FloridaLeaving Florida

Zooming past the eastern coast...
First up I need to apologise for my slackness in getting this last blog out. I'm back in London, and have been for nearly two months now, but just haven't had the time to sit down, write and upload photos. I know as my loyal fans you have been eagerly anticipating this last chapter, so friends the wait is over, here it is, my final blog..........

After leaving the beautiful beaches of Miami we headed up the eastern coast to the beautiful city of Georgia in Savannah. The landscape here changed dramatically from that of Miami. The sand and surf was replaced with lakes and trees. I love saying “Savannah” with a thick southern accent. It sounds really cool, go on try it. Georgia is a very picturesque city, you can tell the city spends a lot of money on the maintenance of the public areas! The trees are trimmed, the flowerbeds are perfectly pruned, and there is not a hint of trash on the streets, and also for once, no homeless people. This made me feel a little uneasy, and I had strange suspicions that we were in Stepford. Maybe the city was just full of neat freaks, or
WilmingtonWilmingtonWilmington

Not the real Dawson's Creek, but it look Dawsonish enough to pass.
perhaps these people actually took great pride in their city’s appearance. It feels weird calling Savannah a city, because it felt more like a quaint little town. Regardless it was beautiful, although beautiful isn’t the right word. It was...pretty.

Savannah was made famous in recent years by the movie Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Set in a mansion in Savannah, it’s about a murder that occurred amongst the wealthy socialites of the 1950’s. The city oozes that southern intrigue made famous by the movie, either that or it cashes in on it! So we spent most of our time in Savannah wandering the streets and taking photos of the beautiful parks and squares that are scattered all over the town. The Savannah River runs past Savannah (der) so the banks are lined with shops, bars and a cute pebblestone pathway. It was once again, pretty.

All this beauty and nature was making me nauseous, so after a day we headed off to our next destination, Washington DC. We knew it would take us more then a day to get there, so while looking through our travel book, I noticed that about half way up was
WilmingtonWilmingtonWilmington

The Riverwalk where Pacey and Andie first kissed. Kate and I thought about recreating the moment, but then realised that kissing each other would severeley effect our friendship!
a town called Wilmington in North Carolina. Doesn’t sound familiar? What if I said Capeside? Gee you people are hard work! What if I said Dawson’s Creek? That’s right folks, Wilmington was where Dawson’s Creek was filmed so as soon as we found that out we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to catch up with Dawson, Joey and the rest of the Capeside crew. By chance we found the hotel where Dawson and Joey both once stayed. I slept in Joey’s bed and Kate slept in Dawson’s. Just let us live our fantasy okay! In the morning we headed into town to the local tourist office and collected our very own Dawson’s Creek Fact Sheet. I was so excited! We spent the morning walking around town checking out where the characters used to hang out. But after a while we got over it so we got into the car and drove around for ages trying to find the 'actual' creek. We couldn't find it, and were sorely disappointed.

Back on the road through Virginia and finally to Washington DC. We arrived with the sun shining down on us and the inviting feel of a new city. We spent the
WilmingtonWilmingtonWilmington

Good old fashioned paddle steamer
two days in Washington checking out all the main tourist spots. Washington Monument, World War II Memorial, Abraham Lincoln Memorial, The White House and all the other random grey stone memorial/monumnets. The city is filled with them! I also got a chance to meet up with Kate the Tourguide Extraordinaire again. She had just relocated to Washington from New Orleans and was conducting her first tour. I was lucky enough to be her first customer. She taught me so may things about Washington, for instance, did you know that George Washington had issues with size so thats why he built the Washington Monument, and that the 52 flags surrounding the base of the monument represent the 52 STDs he contracted over his lifetime. Wow, they dont teach you that in history class kids!

One of the things I loved about Washington, is that not only do you get a great sense of patriotism, but you also get the feeling that something big is happening in this city. What I mean by that is that there are two types of people in Washington, tourists and businessmen (and women). And these business-people really give the sense that the city is progressing,
SavannahSavannahSavannah

One of the many beautiful parks in Savannah.
and that important things are happening up in their skyscraping offices. Dont know about Kate, but thats what i got from it! As money was getting tight we spent the two nights in Washington sleeping in the car, after the second night I felt like a hobo and swore I'd never do it again! While in Washington, we were lucky enough to gain our first traffic infringement - a parking fine!! Its was only $25 though, so being the hardcore rebels that we are, decided not to pay it. What were they going to do, fine us, put us in jail, deport us?? Suckers!

Next stop Pittsburgh, Pensylvania. And no there is no vampires there, sounds stupid but someone actually asked me if it was close to Transylvania (i think it was my brother). It was a long drive through Maryland and West Virginia and as we arrived in Pittsburgh, so did the rain. It just opened up and poured buckets for hours non stop! Before we got to Pittsburgh however we stopped at a place called Falling Water, which is a holiday home used by the Roosevelt family in the 70's and built by the famous architect Frank
SavannahSavannahSavannah

The house were the events in the book/film "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" took place.
Lloyd Wright. I'm not really into that sort of stuff but Kate gets off on architecture so we had to stop in. It was pretty funky inside and visually it was an interesting building, but all in all it wasn't really my thing. In Pittsburgh, we stayed with a friend of Kate's called Haein, who was really lovely and made us feel so welcome in her small flat. We were totally in the way, but Haein didn't mind. Although it was gloomy and overcast for most of the time in Pittsburgh we did get to see some nice parts of the city. The Cathedral of Learning is just beautiful, its part of the University of Pittsburgh, so students actually get to study in this gothic styled cathedral. But apart from that there isn't really much to see or do in Pittsburgh. Haein took us around town and checked out what little sights there was, but it was still cool to be there.

Up next, Toronto, to see my cousins. Its funny coz over the past two years I've seen my Canadian family more then I've seen my own parents, ah well. After our last adventure into Canada, I didn't
SavannahSavannahSavannah

Random Savannah street
think we'd be going back any time soon, but Kate wanted to see Niagra Falls and I figured another visit to the relos was in order. As per usual the officials at the border crossing were complete assholes, but we were used to that so we knew what to expect. They didn't look very impressed when Kate had to open the door to hand them our passports, its not our fault the electric windows broke. I've been to Niagra Falls a few summers ago and I remember it being a gloriously sunny day, and the falls were simply stunning under the rays of the sun. This time however, I wasn't that impressed. Dont get me wrong the falls are still impressive, but when the clouds are looming overhead and the cold wind is blowing around, its not all that great.

So we got into Toronto by night, and made our way to Brampton were my cousins Rocky and Marissa live. It was really great to see them, especially their latest arrival Luca, who was still in Marissa's belly last time I was there. The next day was spent in town walking around and soaking up as much of Toronto as we could without spending money. Money was getting very short at this time and we knew New York would be expensive so we had to be tight. I was tempted to go and see Lord of the Rings: The Musical (what will they think of next?) which had just had its premiere, but it was ridiculously expensive. Our last night in Toronto was spent with my grand-aunt and uncle who fed us a massive italian dinner. I forgot to warn Kate how huge the meal would be, and for those of you that dont know, an italian dinner usually consists of three of four huge courses. Needless to say we both felt like big fat heffers after it! I was so grateful for my family's hospitality, and after two days we headed off to our last destination - New York, New York a wonderful town!

Even though I had been to New York before I was so excited to go back. However we didn't get off to a good start. After we checked into our hostel in the Upper Westside of Manhattan we went back to the car and realised we had scored another parking ticket. Although this
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

Just another random house in Washington, not sure what it is but its white.
time, it was for $115!!! Apparently we were too close to the fire hydrant! The hell we were, we were about 5 metres away! Bastards! We didn't even contemplate paying it though, such rebels. So after our little mishap we headed down to Times Square. It was a warm night out so we walked 40 blocks downtown, much to Kate's whinging. Times Square at night time is an amazing sight. Neon lights and billboards cover every inch of the place and there is so much light radiating off them that it sometimes feels like the middle of the day. It felt a little surreal to be walking around New York, but at the same time I felt totally comfortable, as if being back in New York was like being back in a familiar dream or something. That was deep huh? Most days we would find ourselves wondering around through Times Square on our way to our next destination, nothing beats walking around New York on a bright and sunny day. Although one morning on our way through Times Square, the rain which was coming down fast and hard turned to snow, and although it was cold and slushy, it was so magical seeing snow falling on Times Square. It brought a tear to my eye......

On our second day we began the stressful task of attempting to sell the car. We put an ad in the New York Times and then on a few online car sale sites. I was confident that we would sell the car within a few days, because if we didn't, then we were screwed! After a few days of not recieving any calls about the car we were starting to worry. Money had reached an all time low and the thought of prostituting ourselves was no longer a joke, it was a necessity. We put up notices, drove to a few caryards in Brooklyn and still nothing. Luckily on our second last day a beautiful blonde bombshell saved the day. Her name was Reese Witherspoon and she bought our car for $500 dollars. Sold! woo hoo! Okay and before you ask, she wasn't the real Reese Witherspoon but she was either her twin or her wax replica from Madame Tussauds. It was sad selling The Hoff, he was like family and the three of us had been through so much over the past 10 weeks. It wasn't until we had signed over the papers and walked away that I realised I didn't even get a chance to say goodbye. We stopped in the street sobbing and and consoling each other over the departure of our friend, I just hope Reese gives him a good home.

So although the whole car saga was stessful we still were able to enjoy our time in New York. We spent an afternoon in Central Park one day walking along the paths and stopping to chase squrrels. Kate was obsessed with finding the stone bridge which was used during "Home Alone 2" but I dont think we ever found it. We did notice a lot of familiar areas and statues that were used in other films, so that is always pretty cool.

We also spent a day wandering around Lower Manhattan. The cool thing about Lower Manhattan is that each little neighbourhood has its own very distinct flavour, but at the same time they are all very New York sort of places. From the streets of Greenwich and Chelsea, where Sarah Jessica Parker and pals used to strut their stuff in Sex in the City, to the West Village where the riots at the Stonewall Inn in the 70's sparked a national gay movement, then over to the East Village and Alphabet City where the chic bohemians and struggling artisits laze away the sunny afternoon in the park, that part New York City has such a great vibe and the whole area is great for people watching.

Went over to Brooklyn in an attempt to sell the car to a few car yards, and although we didn't have any luck, it was good to get out of Manhattan and see other areas of New York. We had breakfast in a typical Brooklyn diner, and I had to chuckle at the two policemen sitting in the booth next to us. It was just very typical of Brooklyn and the whole place had a very suburban feel to it.

A strange thing happened when we went to the World Trade Centre site. Last time I went there I was really humbled by the whole experience, reading the plaques, and seeing the memorials people had set up. But this time not only was I once again humbled but I was completely overwhelmed, and actually started crying. I didn't
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

In front of the Capital Building
know what was wrong with me, had I gone soft? In hindsight I think it had something to do with how close I was to the London train bombings last July. Although the scale is nothing compared to what happened in New York it just gave me a different perspectvie and I could really see how somthing like this affects the whole city. The site still looks the same as it did two years ago, just a whole lot of nothing. Construction has just begun on some sort of memorial, but im not sure what they plan to put there.

I couldn't leave New York without getting my dose of Broadway. I didn't go all out like last time (when I saw 7 shows in 7 days) this time I only saw 3. Partly because Kate is a uncultured moron and doesn't realise the profound greatness of theatre, hence I couldn't leave her alone every night, and also because I was low on cash (gee what else it new). If you're an uncultured moron and get bored reading about theatre then just skip this paragraph. So first up was "The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee" (a bit of
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

Outside Capital Building, a group of demonstraters against circumcision! How ridiculous!
a mouthful I know!). This show was hilarious, its about a group of dysfunctional kids from dysfunctional familes, who enter into a spelling bee in the hope of winning the grand prize. Next was the new Elton John musical "Lestat", based on the Vampire Chronicle novels by Anne Rice. Remember the movie Interview with the Vampie, well it was based on that, and the second book, Lestat. It was suprisingly really good, and although it got slated by the critics I really enjoyed it. And finally for something a little more serious, I saw a play called "Doubt", about a nun who becomes suspicious over a friendship the priest has with one of his students. A peodophile priest? Heard that before, but it was still really gripping stuff.

A funny thing happened when I finished seeing "Doubt". I came out of the theatre and had to meet Kate in the East Village where she was having a drink with an old friend of hers. So I got on the train and before I knew it I had crossed the Hudson River and was going into Brooklyn. I had gotten on the wrong train and it was an express train
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

World War II Memorial
so I just had to sit there and wait. Then when I got off, the platform was deserted, it was dark and scary and this was New York! I was all set to be mugged by a gang of theives, gangsta style! And just as I was about to pee my pants with fear, a train came past and I was safely back to Manhattan and into the loving arms of my Katie. After that night I decided never to leave Kate's side, only bad things happen when we're apart. But thats probably because I'm a stupid manchild, who does stupid things and gets myself into stupid situations!

Last time I was in New York I went to Liberty Island to check out the big green lady. Kate wasn't too fussed so this time we got on the Statten Island Ferry, which is a free (always good!) ferry that takes you from lower Manhattan to Statten Island, and you get to cruise right past the Statue of Liberty. I really love seeing the Statue of Liberty, its so iconic of America and once again it gave me that wow feeling, that I cant believe im doing this.

For
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

Inside one of the arches of the World War II memorial
our final night in New York we decided to celebrate in style and go out for a classy meal. And where else to go, but the Outback Steakhouse! Mandy a girl that we had met at the hostel, who we drank and partied with most nights in New York, joined us and together the three of us spent the night eating our Bloomin Onion and other random Aussie-themed foods. We also stole some menus because I just had to have a momento, and the items on the menu has such stupid names!

It was out last day in New York and everything was finally coming to an end. Sold the car, sold the phone, and checked out of the hostel. I couldn't help but start to feel a little sad, although at the same time happy to get back to London. Our last day we decided to take in all of New York from the highest point possible, the Empire State Building. After spending about two hours in line with the hordes of other tourists, we finally got to the top. The view is spectacular up there and it was a beautiful clear day so we could see everything.
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

Abraham Lincoln memorial. Just below the pillars on the steps is where Martin Luther King gave his famous "I have a dream" speech.
From Central Park, The Financial District, Flatiron Building, and my most favourite Manhattan landmark, The Chrysler Building, all the way out to Brooklyn and the Brooklyn Bridge then across to Harlem and the Bronx. It was a great way to say goodby to my favourite city.

So we got our packs from the hostel, said goodbye to Mandy, and made our way to the airport. We were both pretty quiet on the way to the airport, just in our own reflective moods I guess. And also after 10 weeks with the same person I'm sure we couldn't wait to part ways! I was scared about getting on the plane because Kate and I were on separate flights, mine left New York 5 hours after hers. We know what happens when Kate and I are apart, so I knew something was bound to go wrong. So Kate checked in her luggage, and we had one last cigarette together under the American sun. We enbraced one last time, shed a few tears and then waved goodbye.........

"Right I'm on my own, I can do this, I will not do stupid manchild things and get myself into stupid manchild situations." Sitting in the terminal for 5 hours is really boring. All I wanted to do was sleep but knew that if I went to sleep I'd most likely miss my flight, this is me we're talking about so of course that would happen! It did give me the chance to reflect on my trip and all that I had seen and done. For a while there I wasn't sure I was going to come on this trip, not only was it due to lack of money, but I was also a little scared of leaving everything I had built up in London behind. But I am so glad I did this trip. I'm now much closer to my little Katie, and I have had such an amazing experience. Nothing can ever compare to this once in a lifetime trip. The flight home was uneventful, I got sat right up the back next to the loo so it wasn't the most "fresh" smelling of places, but it got me back to London in one piece. My ginger gal Laura met me at the airport with a sign saying GILBERT (For those that have seen the movie What's Eating Gilbert Grape, I do
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

The Reflecting Pool. Look familiar? Jenny ran into the pool in Forrest Gump.
a great Arnie the retard impression, and I also do stupid things so the nickname sort of fits). So Laura met me there and I cried coz I wasn't expecting anyone to be there. Riding the tube with Laura and catching up on all the goss made me realise how much I missed her and everyone and everything about London, and gee it was great to be back.....

So this is the end guys, thanks to everyone who emailed me, and left comments on my blogs. I hope you enjoyed reading them, and even if you didn't, I don't care coz I enjoyed writing them! Thanks to all the people we met on the way who were so hospitable and didn't mind having two weary travellers crash their home - Tana, Kirk, Theresa, Steve, Scott, Bruce and Renee, Dom and Andrea, Lynn, Aaron, Haein, Rocky and Marissa, we couldn't have done it without your kindness and generosity.

And finally a few random facts to put it all in perspective -

12,000 Kilometers
7,500 Miles
4,400 US Dollars
782 Photos
575 Gallons of Petrol
280 Units of Alcohol
143 Cigarettes
94 Roadkills Spotted
76 Days
76 Coffees
32
Falling WaterFalling WaterFalling Water

Frank Lloyd Wright's famous house in the background.
Photos of Signs
28 Fast Food Stops
24 States
12 Snowball Fights
11 New Mates
10 Roadside Diners
4 National Parks
2 Parking Fines
2 Crazy Friends
1 Encounter with Madonna
1 Xtreme Magic Show
1 Road Map
1 Beast of a Car

The Ultimate Adventure


Take care out there and see you all round....

Love Rob
(the stupid dumb manchild)




Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 37


Advertisement

Falling WaterFalling Water
Falling Water

Follow me!


3rd June 2006

Until we meet again!!!
Hey Rob, Don't worry if people didn't like your blog, the important thing is you enjoyed yourself and like you said, it's an experience of a lifetime...no matter the cash....if you wait for that, then you will never have the experience. It was great to see you again, although you were pressed for time, but you made it to Toronto, and it was nice. Enjoy London before you return to Aussie land, and please do keep in touch once your roadtrip ends. Regards to Kate and all the best. Take care, Marisa, Rocky and Luca
5th June 2006

Naked Cowboy!
Mate! I can't believe you saw the Naked Cowboy!!! How exciting! I remember he was on Ricky Lake once and then a few months later we saw him in Times Square and it was like -3 degrees c. AND HE WAS STILL IN JOCKS!!! Madness I tell you!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb