New York Encore


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 18th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next morning I got the train back to New York. It was delayed by 2 hours unfortunately because of some track work so instead of getting there at 10am I got there at 12pm.

Nevertheless I got to see some sights before my flight which was departing at 4pm that day. I had to take my bags all around with me as they didn’t let me store my luggage at Grand Central station (and most stand alone lockers were now gone from Manhattan).
Fortunately I was lucky that I didn’t really have that much stuff with me - a small suitcase and a back pack. I decided to get to the ferry port and catch the ferry to Stanten Island. A had met a girl that told me from the ferry is one of the best views of the Statue of Liberty and while Elise Island is nice to see, getting a cruise to the Statue of Liberty was not really worth it.

Plus the lines were a lot longer to the boats to go to Elise Island and they wouldn’t let you on with big bags.

The ferry was nice and gave you some news over New York. Staten Island - well there wasn’t that much to see there so I hoped on the ferry back to the mainland from there. On the ferry back, I met some lesbian girls who were dressed like ravers - maybe there was some sort of a day rave shindig that I had not been informed about?

Michael Jackson had recently died. I found this out when I was in Connecticut. AS a result the atmosphere was pretty awesome in Manhattan, New York. There were all these break dancers on the street and people paying tribute. I was getting distracted left right and centre.

I only had about 2 hours until check in. I decided to quickly detour past ground zero before catching the metro to the airport.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb