An embarrassment of riches


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 11th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just turned on PBS on a whim when I should have been in bed an hour ago trying to cut jet lag off at the pass. (I don't want to sleep the mornings away when I'm on the east coast.)

Just so happened that there was a music segment on the Charlie Rose program celebrating Elliot Carter's centennial. He's still alive, looks great, is busy composing for commissions, and is sharp as a tack. For those who don't know he's perhaps the preeminent living American composer. Winner of TWO Pulitzer Prizes among other honors. I was privileged to be in the audience with him in 1990 when he was the composer in residence the Ojai Festival.

Anyway, on tonight's program he was in conversation with James Levine, Music Director of The Metropolitan Opera, and Daniel Barrenboim, the renowned pianist and conductor. I will be at The Met this weekend, and if I wasn't trying to be at a different famous venue each night I would probably be seeing Mr. Barrenboim in recital on that same stage the next night. NYC is truly the musical mecca, particularly for jazz and classical.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

100100
100

Elliot Carter at his 100th birthday party


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb