DAY 10


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 30th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 30 November 2008
Got up, late - about 10.30 but think I needed the sleep in. Took a shower in the shared bathroom and headed out for a wander around the Village. Had my first subway experience - and didn’t manage to get lost. I did that on my second excursion today to World Trade Centre. Anyway, it was raining and freezing and I couldn’t get out my map to navigate properly so I thought it was appropriate to return and get some laundry done. In the spirit of this vacation, luck, there was a laundrette just around the corner. So I sat there and caught up on some light reading and this diary.
Got hold of Kristian who told me we were going to meet up at 8pm, so decidd to head down to the World Trade Centre sight as it was down town and reasonably close on the subway. Got lost on the subway - well not lost per se, just forgot to get off when I actually got to World Trade Centre as its at the end of the line but they don’t make you get off. Also I couldn’t understand the announcement made on the train and when I started to go the other way I realised my error. Oh well, eventually got to the site where there was a whole lot of construction equipment going on. Thought about going to the museum site, but it was closing when I arrived so I took a walk around the surrounding streets. Happened across a can exhibit - in New York they have can drives for the less fortunate at this time of year, so they have created a Can Artistry competition where teams of people build using cans of food and make art out it. Very clever with a couple of notable exceptions including a whole shark and a panda in a bamboo forest - all made out of canned food. Up to 8000 cns in some of the pieces. The less fortunate though are going to have a whole lot of black beans to eat. Back to the Hotel now and just waiting for Kristian who hs advised he is running late - some things never change. Might even get this uploaded to the internet - haven’t been able to log in anywhere despite all the two previous hotels having internet access.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb