DAY 9


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 29th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 29 November 2008
Another early start with very little sleep - but I thought this way I could pass the time on the flight by actually sleeping. Finally got my phone working at the airport and called Kristian to let him know I was arriving and think I managed to text Vasilis just before my flight. Kristian said he would work out the plan to get me to the see the show. Luckily my sleep plan worked - I woke up just as we were decending into JFK after sleeping for five hours.
Got a text from Kristian upon my arrival with a number to call Edward, Kristian’s current squeeze, who would meet me and organise to meet up with his friends who had a car to take us to New Jersey where he was performing. As usual the number was incorrect, which I found out after I got a text from the person who actually owned that phone numbr. This was topped off with the fact that he had provided my number incorrectly to Edward. After a couple of backward and forwards to Kristian I got in contact with Edward in the cab on my way to the hotel. He was already in town and after a couple of changes to plan, he met me at my hotel.
Edward was very nice and we took a cab to Times Square to meet up with his friends driving us to Jersey. The trip itself took about 30 mins all traffic considered (the friends were from Queens) and we got to the show in plenty of time. Kristian had organised seats and, as I found out after, all the principle skaters were actually doing their own roles, no swings skaters. How he actually organised that I’m not sure. In the show he was the main car from Cars, a Hyena in the Lion King and the fat fairy Tinker in Tinkerbell. The show was typically Disney but fun none the less. After the show I met up with Kristian who was staying with Edward in NJ before Edward had to fly home on Sunday, but we have plans for tomorrow night. I got a lift back to 39th and Third Ave with the friends of Edward (apologies, have forgotten their names) and walked down Third Ave, getting a bite to eat I think in Little Italy at a genuine American diner. Had a huge turkey club sandwich before heading back to my hotel to get some sleep in a lying down position on something that wasn’t travelling. Novel concept.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb