New York New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 25th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, here I am, Day 2 of my trip and I find myself in New York again ! I love this freakin' town - everything about it is amazing, however, most of all, the cultural diversity just blows me away - european, asian, latinos, african-american, italian, sudanese - you name it, they're in the NYC !

So my hostel was in the heart of Harlem (this little white duck stood out like a pimple on a baby's ass) and was pretty kewl however, no bar ! It is called the 'Jazz on Lennox' in case anyone is planning a trip to New York in the near future - cheap, secure and clean ! All the things I look for in a hostel.

So I spent yesterday at the Guggenheim where there were some greatest impressionist art works - Monet, Cezzane, Degas, Van Gogh and Picasso. There was also a very interesting (and also very different) photo exhibition by a US photographer ... some it was definitely not me however, it was an education to say the least !

From here I walked through the top end of Central Park West (around 89th street) and wandered down towards Times Square. I spent about an hour in FAO Schwartz - a massive toy store that featured in the movie "Big" ... afterall, I am a kid at heart ! and took some shots outside the Plaza Hotel (of Home Alone 2 fame). I also had some soup from Seinfeld's 'Soup Nazi' and yes, there was 'Soup for me !!' ... let me tell you, it was the best freakin' soup I've ever had - I recommend the veal goulash.

The adventure continued through Times Square and then, on dark, I walked over the Brooklyn Bridge (and back) before taking in a few home brews at the Pumpkin Patch Ale House. Throughout the day, I also snacked on New York fare - hero sandwiches from the deli, NYC hotdogs with mustard, relish and sauerkrat, New York slice pizza (it's freakin' huuuuugee) and also had a giro.

Today, I wandered through Harlem for about four hours and took in the sites - Columbia University, the Apollo Theatres, the Gothic Cathedral of St. John of the Divine (it is ridiculously massive) and Morningside Park.

I then jumped the subway (where I had the distinct joy of listening to a deluded man act out at least three different personalities) and now I find myself sitting in the British Airways departure lounge awaiting my flight to London. So, here I choose to end this blog entry in time to have a shower and another beer.

Adios muchachos !

Derek / Babs

Advertisement



27th November 2008

Journey Away!
hey champ - sounds like the trip is in full swing! Now, we are just waiting for the mayhem to spread across the Atlantic! We will be disappointed if we don't hear about some problems with a West End Curry
30th November 2008

It sounds like you are eating your way across NYC!!
I was laughing reading your blog as i thought that hostel sounded familiar and yep.... Jazz on Lennox was where I stayed in NY too :+) Sounds like you are having a blast... I look forward to hearing your next adventures... and seeing what other prizes you can be photographed with! :+)

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb