The Funk Odyssey has begun ...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well kids, the craziness has begun !

I'm sitting here at LAX awaiting my flight to New York and thought that I'd kill a bit of time by adding my first (real) blog entry.

For those not aware, I was delayed out of Australia by the 'bloody marvellous' (chippy chip ! tally-ho and all that) British Embassy who took three months to process my working visa ! Not to worry though, I've only had to delete the US and Mexico from my itinerary. So after this blog in LAX, I'm off to New York Freakin' City for two whole days before hitting London for five.

Right, so from the beginning. Firstly, at check-in I was pleasantly surprised (actually, estatic) to find that I'd been upgraded to business. My seat was (no less) upstairs in the Big Bird and right at the front (jawsome !). I also had a spare seat next to me so I could really spread out ! Enter a 12-hour alcohol infused gorging feast - three course lunch, four course breakfast with plentry of Squires Golden Ale, Red Wine and snack foods in between ... oh and a few hours sleep !

Prior to boarding, I also ran into this Kiwi sort who happened to have in his possession none other then the Rugby League World Cup that those New Zealand types had won off Australia the previous evening. Needless to say that a few choice photos with said prize were in order (they will be uploaded to Face-crack shortly).

The inject of random sadness occurred at the 'goodbyes' point when I sadly had to bid farewell to Mum, Dad, Sarah and Adam. Guys I'm missing you all as I type however, a grand adventure is calling !

Finally, because there hadn't been any controversey thus far, customs decided to inject some ... by telling me that I tested positive to bomb residue during a 'random test' ... oh, and it wasn't once, but four times ... arrrrgggh ... a nervous ten minutes nonetheless, however in the end I received the 'all clear'. Inshallah, dhurka, dhurka, mohammed jihad !

So, with that I might end this blog here and kick back before flying on for another five hours ...

Until New York my friends.

Derek / Babs

Advertisement



24th November 2008

ha ha ha
Well of course Britain isn't going to give YOU a visa straight up.....you test positive for bomb residue!!!! After all we have the safety of our country to consider :) Sorry i missed you before you left, have a cracking time away, will email you when I'm heading over next year!!! :)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb