New York! New York!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 79- Friday

Sitting here in the magnificent reading room of the NY Public Library on 42nd street in order to use the computer. The internet in my hotel didn't seem inclined to co-operate for me.

After my busy day in Boston on Monday, we picked up a hire car in order to go to Cape Cod and Nantucket. This entailed driving a couple of hours to the south, stopping of at Plymouth on the way. Here we saw a replica "Mayflower" and saw the rock inscribed to commemorate the arrival of the Pilgrims in 1620. Then on to Provincetown, on the furthermost tip of the peninsular. After the spectacularly clear blue days in Boston, it was rather overcast with a few spots of rain but this really only accentuated the windswept atmosphere of the cape. It was great to have a car for a few days so we could stop and look around at isolated beaches and of course look out for an interesting diner to have lunch.

Having reached the end of the cape and looked around we decided to come at least half way back to spend the night in a motel so we would be near to catch the 9am ferry to Nantucket on Wednesday. We were again lucky..a beautiful day for the two hour boat trip. The island itself is picturesque and nowadays exclusive and super-expensive to live. In fact the driver of our bus tour told us that nearly all the occasional workers have to have ferry commuter tickets as part of their pay as they can't affor to live on the island! Other, larger employers such as the hospital have to provide accommodation.

Thursday morning we had to hasten back to Boston to drop off the car by 11am and then take the train four hours down the line through Rhode Island and Connecticut to New York. We reached Penn station at 6pm. Connie and Nora continued on to New Jersey as they peferred to stay in a youth hostel and I wanted to be near the "Theatre District". We will continue on to Washington together in a few days.

Unbelievable! Emerged from the station into 8th Avenue. The hotel I had found on the internet a couple of months ago was a few blocks up the street. By 7pm I had had a shower and emerged in to the street agin....round the side of the hotel in 43rd Street was what could only be described as a streetful of theatres! Astonished I scanned the nearest options..Jersey Boys ( could see from my window upstairs) , Mama Mia, Phantom...I chose " Gypsy" starring Patti Lu Pone. Ticket...yes. 7.05. I was so pleased I thought I could do with out dinner or eat a bread roll or the dreaded Macdonalds afterwards. However..as I walked along..there was the famous Sardi's restaurant....table for one with a quick pre-theatre dish and glass of wine..of course!

This morning I have walked all around getting a feel for things. Through Time Square , behind the hotel...42nd Street..all along to the UN headquarters for a tour inside. It was a priority today as it is closed on weekends. I am fairly relaxed as I am returning to the opera on 1st-4th October. ( THe season doesn't start till then) . So today I am seeing how far I can walk and how much I can see....Lincoln Centre and Central PArk this afternoon. Might leave the Empire state till tomorrow as it is a bit cloudy.

Having difficulty with phones. Michael messaged and tried to call me...it took a few messages and attemptes for him to get through. THe phones Connie and I bought are $50 jobs so are not the best. So have had difficulty contacting her today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb