Harlem nights


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 6th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A week of air conditioned luxery is well and truly over. staggered back from JFK after saying farwell to Kirsty to try and get back to a hostel i had booked in Harlem before is got too dark. Not enthuesed with confidence when a cop asks me where i am going and when i say he tells me to be very very careful

I got there without any issues, but the y double booked me so sent me to a sister hostel right back downtown after getting quite a following of men straight out a gangstas R us store..... The hostel is small and i am put into a room with a another bloke. This room is hotter than satan's jock strap and slightly less smelly. Last full day in NYC so hit 5th avenue, find the most amazing apple store. All glass and underground bunker of a store. Like a square louvre but without the mona lisa or clues to hidden templar treasure. But %th Avenue is an horrific shrine to total consumer greed and on every street, invisible to the gucci sunglass wearing set, homeless and destitute. So I i went took refuge in a church... well St
it impressed me ...it impressed me ...it impressed me ...

religous rubbish or not, this is one impressive carving
Thomas's. Was a very nice church and the one i think they used for End of Days I think. Me in a church..whatever next... thankfully god kept his or her mouth stum and promised not to say anything...

Back in the hostel i find my roommate is a French/russian art film producer and we spend a afternoon discussing the rise of facist new world order and the slow removal of civil liberties in the name of anti terrorism. So rolls up my last night in NYC a quick thai meal and bed and a early start tomorrow for a 5 hour bus ride... the start of the journey begins and i am cacking it...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb