8 hours left in NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 1st 2005
Published: December 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello all...

It's the middle of the night and almost everyone I know in NY is sleeping. That dam WORK thing always getting in the way of staying up late. I was thinking about sleeping...but who has the time, 8 hours left so I figured what better time than now to write my first Blog entry. Hope all of you read this sitting at your desks, having a cup of coffee, reminding yourselves of why it is you go to sleep early everyday just to make sure your not late for that great view of the inside of your cubicle/office/desk. Maybe I will cheer up your morning.

Just remeber you too can quit your JOB, and go to other side of the planet. Start saving now, and one day soon your boss will piss you off for the last time. You'll wake up, have a moment of clarity, and the scheming will begin. Then like most other Americans your capitalist side will kick in you'll remeber the rent/mortgage, car payment and you'll get sucked right back in to the daily grind. For some strange reason we think it's ok to work 50-70 hours a week, for some ungrateful monster of a company, well it's NOT. I know most people reading this blog will continue to make that daily commute, hopefully atleast somebody I know breaks-out, and sticks up their middle finger while their walking out the door.

I look forward to the day when one of my friends comes to me and says...dude, I quit my job and I'm traveling the world, then I'll know what all of you felt like when I pulled this nonsense.

By the way, it's been a great last month in NYC, the Halloween party was EPIC. And it's been great hanging-out with everyone extra often. You all made leaving that much harder.

PS...please remember that most of you will be reading this at WORK while me, Brian, Bryan are sitting on a plane on the way to FIJI. Just thought I'd rub that in!!!



Advertisement



1st December 2005

I hate you
Woke up late. My dry-cleaning wasn't ready last night, so I had to iron a shirt...Ironed a crease into it. Stuffed into the 4 train like a sardine, almost run over by a fucking cabbie crossing the street....and I come in and read this blog. Congrats on doing what alot of us want to do. At least I can live vicariously through your blogs.
1st December 2005

At work drinking coffee
I got a nice laugh reading your first post as I sipped my warm cup of Hazelnut, though you did not necessarily cheer me up. In all seriousness, have a tremendous time gallavanting around the globe. I'll offer you the same advice that I gave Squitz: "A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving." ~Lao Tzu
2nd December 2005

uh!
Hey Brian where do you get money from if you dont work any more and quit your job? Please Answer
2nd December 2005

danger
dont come home with an STD
3rd December 2005

a few suggestions
be careful of the water. drink plenty of bottled beer. line the bowl with paper before you sit
5th December 2005

What up everyone
Hey guys thanks for the comments! Glad to see some people checking, wait till the pics, it's unbelievsable here. For the rockaway crew (mike that means you too) there's a break about 300 feet off the beach, and atleast 10 surfers here. You guys would shit yourselves. Later, will drop everyone an email soon.
6th December 2005

NYC winter rules. NOT!!!
Good to hear you are loving life right now. We had a solid inch of snow over night think I am going to dust off the old Arbor soon. Nice to hear about the perfect wave with a huge crowd of 10 surfers. Party WAVE.
7th December 2005

Coney Island
Yo Al-I was in beautifull coney island today and there were at least 10 surfers in there, maybe 20. What an amazing place. I can't wait to tell you guys all about it. So tropical!! Enjoy work all you suckers
9th December 2005

Aloha
do the chickens have large talons?
23rd December 2005

Ahhhhhhh But Dude!!!!!!!
Looks like Fiji is really stressful......Enjoy the holidays. Do they celebrate any holidays there?
22nd April 2006

bravo
Hi Alan, I appreciated your kind comment and had to check out your blog. Cheers to you for dumping the f$$$ed up American corporate jail cell; I had a similar moment of clarity before leaving and a 'rage against the machine' moment in Guatemala once I realized how nuts it is to have lived that way for so long! Best of luck to you on your travels!

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 21; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb