11. A black fly in your Chardonnay...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 18th 2005
Published: December 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Fairly self explanatory, no?Fairly self explanatory, no?Fairly self explanatory, no?

She came, I saw, I sang. Lots...
I've got to admit, I wasn't a huge fan of Alanis back in her ranty man-hating days. It was all just a little pessimistic for me. My heart was pretty much intact at the age of 14, I'd never really had any parental issues and I was pretty clear on the meaning of the word "ironic", and it had nothing to do with an old dude winning the lottery before promptly dying (didn't they make a film about that, something about Ted or Ned?).

But then there was a little road trip with Ali, when it suddenly all became clear. By 19, there was a bit more pessimism creeping in, the heart had taken a couple more knocks and suddenly, I too wanted a lover that was "curious and communicative". I was completely and utterly hooked. Everyone has albums that sum up just what you were feeling and where you were emotionally at one particular time or another and 'Under Rug Swept' is certainly one of mine. And somehow ever since then, even the whiny stuff's been seeming kinda good...

So I noticed that she was playing in NYC at the Roseland Ballroom and prepared myself to part with
The good lady herselfThe good lady herselfThe good lady herself

A couple of years (and haircuts) later, the "sassy songstress" returns.
life, limb and potentially handbags in order to get a ticket. Thankfully though I'm still alive, still have all four limbs and, most importantly, all four handbags (yes, I DO need all four of them, thank you very much). Instead I bought 4 tickets for $36 each and was able to peddle two to Kate and Anna - it was Kate's Birthday the following day and she's a big 'Under Rug Swept' fan, while Anna is a lovestruck pessimist. Well, at least she liked the old-school stuff... The fourth ticket I was able to sell to some random 6"2' guy, wide as he was tall, who was "soooo desparate for a ticket". Mmhmm. And there were quite a few equally huge, equally unlikely fans there. Apparently her music crosses all sorts of boundaries.

The concert was publicising a new 'collection' album, so it went through all of the albums. And I sang my little slightly-knocked-about heart out! It was amazing. Honestly. Her voice is so much better than it was - far more toned and far less raw, though I know that's a subjective opinion. I'd love to post a couple of videos on here, but sadly this wonderful
She walks, she talks,She walks, she talks,She walks, she talks,

And boy, does she know how to rant...
site doesn't stretch to that. Anyone who wants one, feel free to drop me a comment and I can email it to you.

For those of you who can't stand her, I completely respect that. You're insane, cold-hearted scoundrels, but if you can live with that... No. I know she's not everyone's cup of chai tea, and I apologise for inflicting this slightly random and long-winded blog on you.

She was fantastic though...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The obligatory light show The obligatory light show
The obligatory light show

Complete with fun rotating spirals. Wooo...
Two red-heads walked into a gig...Two red-heads walked into a gig...
Two red-heads walked into a gig...

Kate and me under the "name in lights"
Anna gets her groove onAnna gets her groove on
Anna gets her groove on

My roomie in all her glory!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb