12. Political correctness takes a nose-dive...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 21st 2005
Published: November 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

There are a number of statements that I was pretty certain I'd never hear in the corporate world. These have ranged from the fairly banal ("hell, we're not that busy. Let's take the rest of the month off...") to the delightfully random ("he did? With a BADGER??"). I'd like to think though, that I'm always prepared for the unexpected and can cater to even the most unforeseen of comments.

"What's the going rate for midgets these days?" had me utterly stumped. Picture it. Your boss walks in on a Monday morning, you meet with him to discuss the upcoming fundraiser and that beauty hits you before you've even reached the chair. 'Dumbfounded' almost nails my immediate reaction. It was closely followed by "I'm sure you could google it and come up with who you want in under 30 seconds". It worries me just how much you can actually find on Google, but that's a whole other issue.

Right now, I have to call up the company (somewhat unsurprisingly, I did a quick search for "midget for hire new york" and it was third on the list) and ask what the "going rate" is for both the elf and dwarf santa claus. And who said working in the corporate world was boring...

Welcome to America. A bastion of political correctness, subtlety and second home to midgets everywhere. No wonder Wim Wenders won't leave...

Oh my.


Advertisement



29th November 2005

And for those of you who actually asked...
About $300 for an hour. But he won't do any talking, acting or indeed anything apart from walking, according to his agent. But I guess he's kind of rare. He can afford not to get out of his kind of short bed for less than $1000 a day...

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb