USA - New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
March 4th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love New York. It is simply the most alive city in the world, it never sleeps and I could have spent months there. The hostel, on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, was full of Swedes. Almost immediatley, as if in a challenge to jetlag, I set off, with Erik and Tobias, to find the best pub in the middle of Times Square. However, a hard rock cafe aside, there are no pubs there, just shops. So minutes later we found ourselves in an Irish pub on 9th Avenue with a couple of pitchers of beer discussing politics with some tough looking Italian American Facists, who later that night decided they wanted me to run for Prime Minister at the next election (and I'm fairly liberal - weird). I'd say the first night set the tone for NewYork, I went sightseeing with some stunning Swedish girls during the day; Empire State, Modern art and trendy cafes, and then we'd all go to East Village for the evenings. One night we ended up in the VIP section of some exclusive club at 5am before catching a white limo home with a few bottles of (dirt cheap) champagne. On the night I left I caught a basketball game at Madison Square Gardens, Knick vs New Orleans. The Knicks, as any fan will tell you, suck, a lot. They were competitive til the last quarter then fell apart. Chris Paul, an all-star, shot 27 points and was player of the game (or something). The following day I left on the Greyhound for Washington DC.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb