Washington D.C.


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After New York I headed to Washington DC , the capital of the United States. The city is literally bursting with museams and exhibitions, so I went out less and made sure I got up in time for a bit of sightseeing (early start equals 10am). I also met up with a load of great people from Michigan State who, despite not being able to drink due to some weird university guidlines thing, were great to hang with in the evenings. We attempted bowling several times but never got a lane, saw 10,000bc (possibly the worst film ever) and went out for a classy dinner. I also learnt Utke, a card game that the british pair apparently never lose. During the daytime I saw the various monuments, some modern art (including 'sleep' by Warhol) at the Hochheim and their holocaust museam. The international spy museam was pretty impressive but I couldn't get into the FBI building as they are scared of attacks. The hostel was also about 20m from Takohma subway station, where we had a bomb scare that resulted in the police yelling at us all to stay inside - Americans are definately paranoid.

(Ok, I'm a bit behind schedule but I will try to catch up before I get home.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb