More and more excited every day...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 5th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hehe! The excitement is growing. Graham and I have been doing our last minute New York things before our big departure. I guess it hasn't been very real up until this point -- but we've been planning this trip for what, a year and a half now. Its been such a big part of our lives that I guess I never thought of it as this big event. But now its almost here and there are like a million things to do because we only have 5 more days in the City.

We've been hanging out with our friends a lot, saying goodbye to people. WE hung out in Time Square twice this weekend, going to the ESPN Zone and the Loews Theatre. We've been going to that movie theatre for 3 years now, I can't believe it won't be just down the street (relatively) anymore. I guess my all too famous hatred of this city is starting to wear away as all the bad things about living here end: commuting to my job, rushing through the frantic morning foot traffic, the subway, the heat, the cold, the rain, the snow...All that remains in this last week is sunshine and time to do the things that need to get done. I don't think I've had all this time to myself since dead week at RMWC. Which is really strange concidering that was more than two years ago. Not that its all fun and games here in NYC. Still a lot of packing done -- and by the time we leave next Saturday, I have to get 10 more pounds of stuff out of my bags. 140 lbs is the limit -- can I do it?

I absolutely cannot wait to move into our new apartment. Its really scary that we have not seen a picture of it or anything, but I have imagined it more times than I can count, and I hope that it fits my mental picture to some extent. I have figured that it will probably we well kept. My reasoning for this is that the apartment has only ever been used for couples, and older couples going back to graduate school together tend to have fewer keggers per year than an apartment shared by, say, 5 single American girls or 4 Scottish guys -- not to put down those two groups, but I imagine the amount of beer spilled on our carpet will be much less than in the other rooms. Just a thought.

I also figure that the kitchen will be nice, since they sent us that great list of all the fabulous stuff we get. They actually provide two of everything -- chairs, desks, tables, nightstands...everything. Just so we don't have to share anything -- really, I couldnt share my workspace. But I am practically bursting with excitement at the fact that, for the first time in two years, I will have my very own workspace. My own desk where my own papers and nick nacks and picture frames and books get a home. And my computer FINALLY gets a perminent spot -- instead of under the living room table in the laptop backpack my parents bought me for Christmas. Not that that particular location hasn't contributed to the fact that it is in excellent shape after a year of heavy usage, but I'm pretty excited about feeling like I have a space of my own. *sigh...our dorm room. It'll be just like college. :-)

The current dilemma -- how many of my possessions do I bring along to decorate our "dorm room." (I love calling it that. Heheh...maybe I'll get a wipe board and some Christmas lights -- really chill RMWC style. Damn it! Did I remember to pack my sarong to hang on the wall! HAHAHAHAHAHA) Never mind the decorations -- do I really NEED 8 pairs of shoes? Need, want -- how does one really decide. Do I need a pair of red leather stillettos in a city where half the streets are cobblestone and it rains 75% of the time? Probably not, but for that one really great night dancing at the Fez, I'm sure I will be happy I brought them (**As an aside, Edinburgh does have a Fez club, which just happened to be MY haunt when I lived in Reading...ahhh...my old stomping ground where I learned to appreciate clubbing. Let me just tell you how much I am looking forward to going dancing again. *Sigh...)

Okay...well, I havent even left yet and I am writing all this completely uninteresting stuff about the packing process. Maybe I should hold off on the entries until something interesting actually happens, no? I hope there's WiFi at the airport -- I'd really love to make a post from Phily or something. :-). My first official trip post...:-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb