New York


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last weekend I joined one more time a LSC activity to a famous American city. On the schedule was New York.

Like to Chicago we spent our first time in the bus to New York and arrived at Saturday morning tired in Manhattan.
After a breakfast we started our walking tour at time square. It's a very impressive place, but I expected a little bit more... But it's incredible that they don't have to rent the building on the south side of the square, because they can pay it only with advertisement! We continued our walking tour along the famous Broadway to the South-End of Central Park. Broadway is one of the only streets in NY which doesn’t go direct from North to South or East to West.
We took a right turn, and arrived at Fifth Avenue which we walked down. Yeah, it's a difference to the Bahnhofstrasse in Zurich. After arriving at the Rockefeller Center we had free time.
Severin, Stephi, Andrew, Math, Hannes walked once across the island to the United Nations building. I'm still wondering why that building has no windows... Well, we went back to "Times Square" where we tried to buy some tickets
New York cabs
New York cabs
for a musical at the evening. There is a ticket booth which sells tickets for the half price at the afternoon for the upcoming evening. Because we didn't want to wait 2 hours to get a ticket, we checked the different theaters to get some tickets - and we found some! For me was now the right moment to go shopping. I've to say, New York is great for shopping.
For the way back to the hotel (which was in New Jersey) we had to take the public bus. I would say it was a new experience for me... 😉
After a short fresh up, Greg drove us back to Manhattan, where we wanted to join our musical. We were surprised that we bought tickets for a play and not for a musical. But it was ok, so I could improve my listening skills. The play was about Nixon and the Waterloo affair. A little bit to difficult for me and my language skills. After the play we took a drink and went back to the hotel.
On Sunday was Financial District, Little Italy and China town on the schedule. We also joined a trip on a boat to see
Central Park
Central Park
the skyline from the water. It was great. Little Italy is a little bit the same like in Toronto. At the evening we went to the Empire State Building. We had to wait a long time, but the view was great.
Schedule for Monday was boring: 10hours busride back to Toronto. But before we left, we made a walking tour at the "Central Park". For me it's one of the most beautiful park I ever saw! After leaving the park, we made a short photo shop at New Jersey to get some pictures of the skyline of NY and rode home...

I've to say, New York is an amazing city. Maybe I will go there again on my trip to North America...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

One way...One way...
One way...

Yeah, most streets in NY are OneWay...
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Picture taken from Empire State Building


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb