Carnegie Hall


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 13th 2023
Published: September 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

On my last trip to New York City, Carnegie Hall was closed for renovation. Carnegie is one of those places that belong on a Water Pail List, along with Royal Albert Hall (London), the Mariinsky Hall (St. Petersburg), and Red Rocks (Denver) for great music venues. The name Carnegie should ring a bell with you. Industrialist Andrew Carnegie built this venue, which soon became one of the most prestigious venues for classical and popular music in the world. Carnegie Hall was opened back in 1891, at 57th Street, and Seventh Avenue. It contains three performance venues: Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage, Zankel Hall, and Weill Recital Hall. The attached Rose Museum contains many musical artifacts. So, how does one find Carnegie Hall? Perhaps this joke tells all. The famous Jasha Heifitz was stopped on a New York street, when a pedestrian asked, "How do I get Carnegie Hall?" Heifitz responded, "Practice!" And many famous performers have graced the stage here: The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones, Ike and Tina Turner, Beach Boys, Dave Brubeck, Bob Dylan, Ray Charles, Glenn Miller, Simon and Garfunkel, Nina Simone, Elton John, Billie Holiday, Chicago, Liza, Willie, Benny Goodman, Count Basie, Sinatra, B.B. King, Celine, The Doors, Mark Twain, Chuck Berry, Judy Garland, The Boss, The Byrds, you get the idea. Many of my favorites. Do you think Carnegie himself envisioned this range of music at his venue? But rock and roll did not arrive until 1955, with Bill Haley and the Comets. R & B also first appeared that year with Bo Diddley and Etta James. Elvis never appeared, though his daughter, Lisa Marie, performed in 2012. The very first concert, in 1891, was memorable since Tchaikovsky came all the way to America to conduct his Marche Solennelle. So, how does this lowly wannabee musician from the Valley become intrigued by Carnegie Hall? Probably my old honor society counselor from high school showed me the path. He "forced" me to see the great Artur Rubenstein at the old Opera House in San Francisco when I was in high school. Who would think I would make my way to some of the great music halls of the world? Music has been part of my life since the 5th grade, when I learned how to play the saxophone, and later clarinet in the school band. Before that were some failed attempts at the piano (could not stand the old lady teacher). But I loved the guitar, which I took up in midlife. In fact, I still have the guitar. But I gave the sax to my insurance agent!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb