On My Own...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
March 5th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

All I need in this life of sin...All I need in this life of sin...All I need in this life of sin...

is me and my backpack. Look for me!
I don't feel nervous. I don't have goosebumps. I'm actually feeling kind of mellow. In fact I've never felt so calm. I do feel that I have way too much to carry in one backpack, but I am not going to be one of those smelly rustic backpackers. I've smelled enough to know, I WILL have enough clean underwear.

I told my mom I was leaving last week.

"Where are you going ?"
"Mexico"
"For what?
"Rehab."

She flipped out.

"What the hell do you mean rehab? Are you on drugs? "
"No ma, I was just kiddin'"

Well, sort of. It's kind of a mental rehabilitation sort of thing. After I quit my extremely stressful job in October, I knew I was due for a long unofficial sabatical. I just didn't feel quite right. After a couple of months at home dealing with personal problems I knew it was now or never. Besides, my bank account was dwindling.

The hardest part ? Telling my baby sister I was leaving. It wasn't all of a sudden, I did tell her here and there, months before I booked the trip. She didn't believe me until she
Baby sis sad to see me goBaby sis sad to see me goBaby sis sad to see me go

Wouldn't you cry too? i love this little girl toooo much.
saw me buy the tickets online. Then she started crying.

"I promise I'll be good"

Yeah... I cried. How do you tell a 9-year-old that your brain is fried, your life may be at a stand still and , simply, if you didn't go, you would soon bring that anger home.

You don't. You just let her know you love her very much, too much to not go.

It was hard telling friends and family. Some thought I was crazy, and I had a feeling I wasn't being supported. They expressed their doubts, like family and friends are supposed to do, but that didn't change my mind. Of course I am worried about my safety, as much as I am here in Brooklyn, NY. For the most part I was supported, especially by my co-workers, who knew what I went through and through this blog will live vicariously through me, while slumped behind a cubicle at work (sorry guys).

So here's the plan. I plan on being a shoestring traveler, in other words being as cheap as I possibly can. Hopefully my accomodations, won't exceed $10 a night, maybe in Mexico and Belize. I am flying out of Newark airport (it's cheaper) into Cancun, Mexico on March 5, 2006 at 9:00am. That is my only confirmation. I have no idea what hotel or hostel I'll stay at, or if I'm even going to stay in Cancun. It is spring break time, but I'm not much of a partyer. Everything is pretty much up in the air, but here's a loose itinerary.

2 weeks in different parts of Mexico (mostly the Yucutan)
1 week in Belize
1 week in Guatemala.
Then on to the family compound in Honduras for Semana Santa, or Holy Week in April. I may stay there until after my birthday (hey, free room and board) on April 22, 2007 (Hint, Hint). Then after that , who knows. My dream, God willing, if I have enough time and money is to go to Brazil. The chances of that happening are slim to none, but here's hoping.

Please feel free to join me on my adventures, and share with others if you would like. I promised myself that I will be very open and honest of my experiences. I won't hold anything back. Here and there you'll meet my alter ego, Brooke Lynne. She's a little more sassier and aggressive than me. Feel free to comment, let me feel the love.

And finally,

"El que camino con dios, nunca camino solo" He who walks with God, never walks alone.

Until the next blog,

Ciao Bella,

Melissa

Advertisement



8th March 2007

God will watch over you
I recall seeing you days before you left and you appeared overwhelmed. I know that this is something that you've been wanting to do. It is what it is. I'll pray that you have a safe trip and I will look over your sister. She ran to me today and told me that she spoke with you and that she missed you. She'll be ok. I know she never got a chance to go swimming, so I'll take her with me to the Y with the girls.
8th March 2007

You go girl!!!
Hey girly hope you are having a wonderful time. I look forward to reading you blogs...please be safe!!!
8th March 2007

G'Luck
I am so proud of you for taking this trip and happy you have decided to make me a part of it by sharing your experiences with us through this blog. Have me in mind while you travel around that part of the world and enjoy yourself! From your Jewish friend in Brooklyn...peace out Melissa!
10th March 2007

Have Fun!! and be safe
I'm wishing right now that I was in your shoes(man if I didn't have kiena I would be right next to you). But anyway have a safe trip and don't worry about kayla, me and kiena are keeping a close eye on her.
20th March 2007

IM SO PROUD OF YOU!
Hey Chica, I am so proud of you! Not many people have the courage to do what you are doing. Please be safe, who would ever think that us Brooklyn girls would grow up to be strong and powerful, you in Mexico and me in Japan. If you ever make over this way to Okinawa Japan be sure to stop by ;0). Oncce again please be safe and stay intouch.
24th March 2007

Live it up!
I love your style of writing on your blog. I can't wait to see what you do while expeirencing your adventure. It is very rare people venture out the concrete jungle. I, myself have never regreted traveling around the world. It's my "crack"! Bless, you and be safe and wise!!
26th April 2007

Woot Woot!
I'm so glad you made it out, girly! I hopr that you truly find the healing that you need in your travels through God! May he bring you back home to us safely, if that is his will, or keep you out and about away from this messed up country, if that is his will! Love you, Chica!
29th November 2011

I dig your freespirit.
Life is short. Do it up!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb