Hello, travelblog!


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I guess this is my first official blog post. It's now 60 days before I leave for England. Right now I'm not thinking much about it, I only really think about when people talk about going back to school and I think oh right, I'm not going back this year...
This will be the longest time I've been home in two years, which is... alright? Kingston is ok so long as you have friends, are easily amused, have a car, and a job (or serious hobby if you're into that.) I have 3/4 of them. Well I have friends, but considering I haven't really been around in 2 years I'm not too sure who to call, or if they would even have the same numbers. So right now I'm crocheting a blanket... which might actually be completed before I leave. I've been trying to brush up on my guitar as well; I figure if I find one in Istanbul I'll busk for some extra cash.
I spend most of my time trying to make it go by faster right now. I'm enjoying myself with the friends I haven't seen in way too long but I'm excited to get out of America again. I've been in NY for this whole year now. My feet are too itchy to be ok with that.
It sounds like I have a place on the Europe side 5 minutes away from a ferry to Asia. I'm pretty excited to be able to continent hop. I haven't actually put a down payment on my flat just yet, but I'm friends with my landlord of facebook and he assures me he's saving a space for me. I'm just assuming he's legit and going for it.
So... thoughts? Bored right now, I'm alone at my house after a pretty long day at work. It's raining outside (probably why I decided to start this today.) Now that I've started to talk about going abroad and made a travel blog I'm getting more excited... but yeah, it's still 60 days away. I can't start really thinking about it or else this will be the longest 60 days ever.
But I'm thinking I gotta learn at least SOME Turkish. I shouldn't show up and not know "hello." I'm really horrible with languages though, so this'll be a pain, and Turkish has like every annoying letter from other languages that I don't know how to say, like the us and os with dots over them and the ns with the ~ over them. I'm not sure if they say it the same way as the other countries do, I wouldn't be surprised if they took the letter and made it something else.
I'm thinking I still have to get my immunizations. I'm not sure if Israel has less diseases or I was really dumb about my shots, but I didn't get any shots to go there. I think the school's going a bit crazy with them, I need a bunch, but I guess they don't want to be accountable for these things. And I guess if malaria is actually seriously still a problem in Istanbul then they're on the ball with this, but I feel like Istanbul is a bit more high tech then this.... oh well. I'll see.
I'm thinking I need more money! I'm starting my second job fairly soon (if all goes according to plan...) so hopefully I'll get abroad with a good amount of moolah.
Um, yeah.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb