New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Geneva
May 29th 2012
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Emster - just chillinEmster - just chillinEmster - just chillin

He is walking and doing a little talking!!!
I have been spending the last few days relaxing (sorta) at home with my family. I thought I would be sleeping the whole time, and in fact I had hoped to, but I do feel well rested, even on just a few hours of sleep a night. I took it pretty easy on Sunday, which was nice. Monday, Memorial Day, my Jersey cousins came to spend the day after having competed in a race in Ottawa. It was good to see so many before I take off; we tend to be able to get together at least once a year for some family time. This year has been more than usual, but their kids are so great. Lucy (my parents' Westie) has been following me around the whole time; I think she knows I am leaving again and seems so sad...

Monday night, I stayed with Dana, who has to leave very early in the morning and her hubby is working out of town for a few days. So, I woke up when Emry did at 4, then 5, then 6, after Dana had left. He was in a great mood at 6, then we walked to daycare in the
G-townG-townG-town

Geneva looks peaceful with the beautiful sunset
muggy weather over the ridiculous sidewalks. I got a lot of strange looks for what may be a couple reasons: 1. it doesn't appear that people actually walk their kids on the "sidewalks", 2. on the way back, I was pushing an empty stroller...

Speaking of the weather, I think I got broken in pretty well. It was in the low 90's yesterday and so muggy sweat was actually dripping off our skin. Unlike Dubai, most homes here do not have A/C, so you pretty much suffer or head into the basement for a few hours, where it is about 20 degrees cooler thankfully. It was supposed to be in the 70's today, but I'm pretty sure it was at least 85 when I walked Emry to daycare - it was pretty brutal. However, I am so happy to have had multiple thunderstorms - especially today which helped cool us off considerably - and it's still going!

The cousins left this morning and I spent the remainder of the day preparing for my trip: reviewing the arrival information for when I get to Dubai, cancelling most of my bills, repacking my suitcases, laundry, and preparing my parents for
The clanThe clanThe clan

My cousin and his kids - so cute!
their responsibilities here. 😊

I leave tomorrow afternoon, with a stopover in Zurich. I am arriving in Dubai Thursday night where they will provide someone to help me through customs and a driver to take me where I'm staying - I still don't know where that is yet. But at least I now know what to expect and I am actually getting excited!

Advertisement



29th May 2012

fun
It's good you get to see everyone before you leave! :) I'm sure they are happy to send you off, but sad they won't see you for a couple years. Just like the rest of us... Rest up, and enjoy your traveling over the next couple days! :)

Tot: 1.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 43; qc: 167; dbt: 0.8008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb