Life in the fast lane...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
April 3rd 2012
Published: April 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Here I go again. I am now about two weeks into my hunt for a new teaching position in Korea. With a year under my belt and knowing my way around Seoul (sort of), I know where I want to be. But let me rewind a little...

I returned to the US back in early September with the hopes of returning to Korea very soon after. After talking to family I decided to give the teaching market here a try. I started subbing in a few districts to keep myself in the classroom and I started working at the YMCA again. Subbing isn't too glorious. It's relatively easy for the most part, but it's not what I want to do for an extended amount of time. Well, it has been 7 months, applied in several different states up and down the Easter Seaboard. Either schools are in a hiring freeze and/or I need to move to the state first and hope that a school hires me. And that’s pretty impossible when I don't have money to visit a state until I find a permanent position. I signed up for a teacher recruitment day in Rochester. Surprise surprise, I didn't get one email or call to interview. The economy is getting better, my ass! SO, after realizing actually getting a teaching job here is a long shot, I decided to go where I know I can get one. Korea.

So here I go again. I have sent out for my FBI background check, I have my transcripts on the way to me as I am typing this, and I am going to try and get my diploma notarized tomorrow. SO I will have a good start in the process of getting my E2 visa. Most of the trouble getting all my documents together is the waiting, the waiting for the gov’t to process my things. And we all know how efficient the gov’t is. So I wait….....

I have contacted a handful or recruiters to help find me a teaching position in Korea. Last time I did this I only used one. It seemed to work OK that time, but the school I ended up at was, well, to put it nicely, horrible. The people were great, the kids were great, but the job itself was rough. This time I hope with my previous experience and knowledge that I didn’t have the last time, I will find something more suitable and enjoyable. I have high hopes of getting something that will fit me well. Fingers crossed! I’ve been offered a few positions already, but I turned them down because I want to be in a specific area (plus there were some issues with the specifics of the offers that turned me off to them). On Wednesday I have a phone interview with another recruiting company, so I am looking forward to that. This process makes me very excited in anticipation of what is to come! I can’t wait to get back!

In the mean time, I will try to update this when my process moves along, or when I feel like chattin’ about what’s going on. And with any luck, you will be reading more of my adventures in South Korea in a few months.

SO, here I go again…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.451s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.3877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb