Where in the world is Colleen?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Eurotrip 2



Eurotrip 2
Colleen
Last year, my trip to Europe resulted in hastily scribbled notes on sheets of paper that have long since been torn up or lost in the general chaos of traveling. Fortunately, I was able to document the highlights of my journey with a camera. However, having a bit of experience with Europe now, I am more prepared for this adventure in bringing along a journal and realizing that internet cafes are plentiful and reasonably priced anywhere you go.

Last year, my trip was more confined, as I only explored Ireland and France. However, I had the chance to immerse myself in Irish culture at every coast and I saw the extreme difference between Parisian France and the south of France, which is really more like a French-speaking Italy, filled with Mediterranean and Roman influences.

This year, I plan to be more adventuresome, and I have set myself several challenges. I will stop in Dublin to party for a few days, but the first leg of my journey will consist of me crossing Scandinavia. Once I've flown into Oslo, I am not allowed to fly again until I've reached Helsinki. I will physically cross Scandinavia -- buses, boats, hitchhiking -- so that I can truly experience each country. The second leg of my journey involves Germany. I will fly into Hamburg and make my way to Wacken, and I plan to thoroughly destroy myself with the rest of the metalheads. I don't want to do any serious planning for my time in Germany after the show, but I believe I'll go south into Berlin before I return to Hamburg, and catch my connecting flight back to the States out of Dublin.

Of course, as I'm going entirely solo, I hope to be able to figure out what the hell I'm doing over there, and befriend some cool people in hostels and the like, much as I did last year. There are always crazy young travelers in every part of Europe and I'm not overly concerned about becoming lonely, as some of my best moments last year were had alone.

I've included a basic route map in this blog. It doesn't include the more rural areas I'll be visiting, but it should give the gist of my trip.

Advertisement



17th July 2007

i'm in ur continent
You have no idea how much I use that coaster. Hope you get to use this often enough, it'll be something interest to look at when it's happening, and when it's done. Make the memories more vivid.

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb