And now, the waiting game


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Albany
March 26th 2005
Published: May 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

And now, the waiting gameI really hope the "Confidential Financial Information" form will not be the do-or-die decision breaker of my application. I haven't had a chance to apply for my loan for the upcoming academic year yet, so I'm not quite sure what I'll be getting. It might even be more, as the tuition and expenses will be higher due to my being elsewhere. I filled it out to the best of my ability, rushed to the post office where I just made it in time and the lady was really kind to offer me a way to pay for postage but not send it right then, as I needed to go to CVS again to re-take the pictures so I could drop it off at the mailbox today and have it done with.

So my application will soon be on its way to Japan. Keep your fingers crossed.

Hopefully if my advisor e-mails me back I'll be able to fill out the Freeman-Asia scholarship as well as the Bridging Scholarship, although I'm not sure if I'll be able to have that done in time due to the Registrar taking forever to give me an official transcript, even though they technically can print it on the spot for me if they really felt like it.

Also, due to my random urge to go to Connecticut the other day, I bought this book by Nobuo & Carol Akiyama. It's titled "Japanese Grammar", and I won't tell you what it's about. It's really helpful, and I suggest it to anyone who's interested, or has issues with particles or the crazy plain & polite (past and non-past) verb conjugations. While looking at it before, I for the first time felt that I could get a firm handle on all the conjugations.

I've been looking for a place to buy either Naruto or Bleach raw manga so that I can do some practice reading. I was discussing with my mom earlier about how I had checked for the latest Bleach chapter only to see it was untranslated. I took a shot at it anyway and understood more than I thought I would. Aside from my obvious interest in the two, I think it'd be a neat way to become more fluent at reading (especially in a vertical, right-to-left fashion) and recognising kanji. And catch up with the crazy adventures of my favorite ninjas...

Oh. Utada singing "Take On Me"? Tee hee.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb