Santa Fe, New Mexico to Ft Stockton, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
November 2nd 2011
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rest Area north of Los CrucesRest Area north of Los CrucesRest Area north of Los Cruces

24 hour stay allowed. The thing that makes this rest area somewhat unique is that there is a large gravelled area next to the covered picnic tables you can park your car or RV next to.
November 2 Santa Fe, New Mexico to Ft Stockton, Texas
Woke up early in Santa Fe at the SuperWalmart and started south on I-25 again heading home. The wind had picked up overnight and was blowing fiercely and was blowing me onto the shoulder and occasionally into the other lane. Also it had kicked up quite a dust storm which continued from just south of Albuquerque all the way through El Paso and to Ft Stockton. I usually try and avoid El Paso because of miles of stinking stockyards coming in from the West and also some fairly bad traffic going through it.
I drove south on I-25 which was actually quite picturesque to Los Cruces where I headed East towards Texas. Getting through El Paso was as difficult as usual but I survived. I dreaded the Border Patrol station East of El Paso because it usually has traffic backed up for miles but this time it wasn’t too bad.
Pretty much after getting past El Paso it was drive and soldier on till I got to Ft Stockton at last.
I had decided to rent a room and instead of checking out the motel 6 went to the Budget Inn
which was a mistake. There heater was set up on the wall with vents in such a manner it was impossible to get any heat into the bathroom for my shower. Other than that it was allright I guess.
The next morning I noticed several RV’s parked at the SuperWalmart and rued my decision to rent a room. I should have saved that $50.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb