Lincoln to South Fork Campground- Lincoln National Forest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
August 12th 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

large open field for dispersed campinglarge open field for dispersed campinglarge open field for dispersed camping

very nice large open field for dispersed camping.
Lincoln to South Fork Campground- Lincoln National Forest - After touring Lincoln most of the Day I went West on Hwy 380 and visited Ft Stanton. I was very unimpressed so just drove to the museum there but it was closed. So I got back on Hwy 380 and went west to Capitan and sat in the parking lot of the library and sent out some emails, then headed south on Hwy 48 to Hwy 37. I turned right onto Hwy 37 and went 1.3 miles to Bonito Lake sign. I turned left at sign and went 4.9 miles to campground sign. I went to the South Fork Campground in the Lincoln National Forest. It was packed with families and their kids so after filling my water containers I continued further down the road past it and in and out of public land and back in again to where there was a small road leading off to the left and through a creek bed to an open field for dispersed camping and found a place all to myself. I set up camp and spent a nice overnight stay there. Can’t beat the price…..Free. Elevation 7,500ft.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

road going off into dispersed campingroad going off into dispersed camping
road going off into dispersed camping

small road going off and through small creekbed into large field for dispersed camping
my free campsitemy free campsite
my free campsite

My free dispersed camping campsite by a small stream.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb