Day 20 Iron Creek to Lake Caballo 37 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
October 8th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oct 8th
It's a cold start from the 2,200 m campsite , thank god I can make a cup of tea, my hands are numb. I get away by 9 and start on the 1000ft , 300m climb to Emory pass, its a grind but you get the first hour cycling free as you are fresh, and I am there in less than an hour. On the way there is no traffic and I see four deers crossing the road, a bit startled by my appearence in this silent realm. The view from the pass is awsome and I spend about 40 minutes there, pictures or words cannot render justice to this view down to the rio grande valley.You could be forgiven for thinking you are in Pensilvania in these forested mountains.
Well yipee its downhill now, through Kingston where there is nothing, to Hillsboro, 27 miles of downhill.
A nice lunch in the friendly town sets me up for a pleasant journey ove flat plains to Caballo Lake RV park. Caballo lake is formed by a dam on the Rio Grande on the other side are the Caballo Mountains and beyond that the famous 'white sands' ( missile range and the site of the frist atomic explosion, Trinity) . North 15 miles is the 'city' Truth or Consequenses. A little town called Hot Springs which changed its rather commonplace name to the aforementioned, to appear on a 50's game show of that name.
The RV park is pleasant and friendly and I have a comfortable night, should or should'nt I visit Truth or Consequences, I decide against.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Them mountainsThem mountains
Them mountains

White sands t'other side of this


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb