Back in Santa Fe wahoooooo


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
October 28th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kathy is awake at 4 this am. Now that’s 7 back home but….it is 4 in AZ. We would like to highly recommend the Best Western, they have the best water pressure in their showers, this is great for all those folks heading into and especially out of the canyon, or the big ditch as Trey calls it. They have a fire pit outside, which we didn’t take advantage of, since we retired to our room after the big Mexican fiesta!
It is really cool this morning and we see there are a few leaves left on the Aspen trees. Kathy is a little groggy from her early awakening so she allows me to drive. After all, how much trouble can I get in we are flat and straight east. She does doze and we make good time until the bug from hell hits the windshield smack in my line of vision. I jumped out of my skin praying the noise didn’t wake Kathy. Unfortuneatley she can’t sleepmuch longer as I have a bathroom calling from the coffee this morning. We stop in Meteor Hole Az to get that cup of coffee. We decide the name says it all and just use our imagination instead of exploring the site. When I have my bathroom call I pull into a Navajo store. It is run by Indians and the pottery and jewelry are 40% off, how can we pass up a bargain like that?
We just hear the radio station out here mention Dallas Davidson, the country song writer. Hey this is cool since he is Hillary’s old boyfriend and we have partied with him on several occations.
Again we are astounded by the red rock hills, the vast sky, and now we watch jet streams criss cross the sky. Other interesting sights:
A yacht being pulled down the highway
Huge propellers being pulled, we thing these are part of those large wind turbines we saw in CA
Trains, some rea,lly colorful and piggy backed 3 high with truck trailors, wonder what they are carrying.
big motor homes, Linda and Gene big, we see them very often and pulling other vehicles and we feel they are optimistic about the economic situation and we say yea, go.....
Our next stop will be lunch and it’s a shame we just passed the exit that holds any hope of a descent place to eat for hours. We are now digging through the door pockets and glove compartment for anyting we have left to eat, bonanza, some trail mix we don’t even like but we are scarfing it down just the same. We cross the Continental Divide, Kathy won’t let me have a thing to drink because she’s afraid I will have to go to another Indian store and that takes wayyyyy too long. I tried to tell her she could exercise by walking around the parking lot while I shop but she is anxious to get to Santa Fe. I am just kidding because I am just as anxious to get there. We LOVE Santa Fe.
Kathy and I keep trying to come up with ways to make money or at least get recognition. One of the things we are going to do is see if we can win the “name the panda” contest sponsored by the Atlanta Zoo. Don’t be surprised if you don’t see our names in the Atlanta Journal for this as we have lots of time to come up with a name. (if we can just get some food before our brains become too foggy). Another money maker, we will drive your car to California if you are moving or flying out. Hey Ricky, we are available for shorter trips also if you need car delivery or pick up.
A big birthday shout out to Julie. It’s her 28th birthday, getting close to 30….have a great day Julie. Your mom wishes she could be with you.
We had a great late afternoon, we had a wonderful Santa Fe dinner and drink experience which we will convey tomorrow.
We love yall very much and we really love y’all’s comments on this blog.


Advertisement



28th October 2008

I love Santa Fe. I was there several times in the early '90's . If I had time after meeting with the Eight Northern Pueblo Tribes (between Alberque. and S.Fe) I'd drive on th S. Fe. I loved the old Epis.Church tucked in old trees and the artist everywhere you turned. I worked with the Navajo out of Window Rock.. a long ride for my hotel in Alberque. There's really not much between you and the BIG BUGS in the Interstate, is there...... they must really get extra rations out there..... be safe and have fun!!!!!!! Sniggy
29th October 2008

A happy journal
Your descriptions are so delightful I now wish to visit the West but my vicarious trip via your blog may have to satisfy me for now. It is great to hear you both so enjoying the natural wonders of the area as well as the friendly nature of the citizens. But where are your pictures?????
29th October 2008

where are the pictures?
We would love to have pictures but we have no idea how to post them, what kind of cord to use, where to get the cord, how to use it, where it goes, we will figure this out for our next trip. K and D

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb