Santa Fe revisited


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Taos
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We got into Santa Fe about 3:30. We hurridly called Maroe, our shuttle driver, and he took us to Canyon Road, the place to find a concentration of art. Well, we went in gallery after gallery and decided there was no way to even begin to see them all so we got a recommendation for a place the locals gather. We discovered La Farola, a tapas bar, where we sat right down and met some interesting folks. I could not even understand the menu offerings so we opted for the recommendation of a great new friend, Bayla, who lives in DC and Santa Fe. Casa Sena was the place she sent us and we enjoyed it very much. However, the waiter and waitress are frustrated broadway wannabe’s and again there was a piano player, and they would take our order, or someone else’s and then break out in song. It was fun, Santa Fe must be the place for show tunes and their performers. We crashed early after a marathon ride on I-40 and were very thankful for a safe drive in. Kathy went to the coke machine and brought me a coke and started my birthday early with candy corn and snickers…….the perfect birthday cake for me!!!
I resisted, but, Kathy insisted we go to Taos, and thank goodness she did. It is one of the most beautiful drives I have ever seen. Outside Santa Fe you start the climb to 6500 feet and it is outstanding scenery all the way. I am not kidding here, the air and sky and light are really different. We drove through the Rio Grande Gulch. We don’t know what kind of trees we saw, but, they were the most brilliant golden color, against the red rock and sparce greenery of the desert, you just can’t believe their beauty. It was certainly more than our “gift for today”. Fall color here against the sky, the river here in the midst of the high desert, enormous cliffs and mountains of rock, I tell you it is a birthday I will remember forever. Kathy has been really sweet, she bought me wine, great cheese ( port salut), crackers and smoked almonds for our cocktail hour in the room. For a special birthday treat, she brought my suitcase in…….now who could ask for more? Also, thank all of you for the birthday wishes today. Lest you think Kathy was too sweet, she did criticize my driving…..I know she tried not to so it must have been really bad…..

From Kathy: I want to add that the galleries on Canyon Road in Santa Fe were really wonderful. If I had $15,000, I would have bought a painting or sculpture! So out of my league. The artists and the gallery owners were all so nice and welcoming. But then, maybe they thought we had the money to buy something.

You know La Farola that Debby spoke of? It was a tappas bar. Six tappas for $53.00. Forget that. And, the restaurant, La Sena, was okay, but the broadway singers commanded attention and we couldn’t talk while they performed, and you know that’s really hard for us.

Today is Debby’s birthday and she doesn’t look any older, and certainly doesn’t act any older. Anyway, she’s not depressed about it so I’m glad that I don’t have to put up with any “attitude” from her.

I really like Taos better than Santa Fe. It’s more my laid back style…more country-like. And, the art work is less expensive. So, if I had $3,000 I might buy a painting or sculpture there. And, don’t you know that if that same object d’art was sent down to a Santa Fe gallery, it would command a bigger price tag. So unfair. And, I want to mention, too, that there are so few tourists here, as well as Santa Fe, on the streets. I do believe that the economy has kept everyone at home. On that note, you’d think a gallery would give us a deal…don’t you?

Ok, kids, so if you haven’t wished Debby a Happy Birthday yet, be sure you do by phone or e-mail or whatever.

Oh, oh, I forgot to mention, that we went over to Whole Foods market that is right next to our motel and I asked a clerk where to find the almonds and he took us through the store to find them. He worked in the produce department and he brought along an apple and kept slicing off pieces for us to eat while we walked along. It was the most delicious apple but he said they were $4.00/lb, so we didn’t buy any. Anyway, his name was Ashley and his birthday is today too! He gave Debby a big hug when I mentioned that it was her birthday.

I know I’m skipping all over the place with this blog, but….I forgot to mention ALSO that we had to change hotel rooms because there were some guys who were making so much noise outside our room last night and then first thing this morning, so if you ever come to the Sage, be sure you get a room in Bldg. A. I think that Bldg. B is reserved for rednecks. Santa Fe rednecks. You’ll thank me for this advice one day.

Oh, Debby wants me to mention (but I don’t think that it’s that important) that I made her walk 100 more steps through the parking lot at the Whole Foods Market because I wouldn’t park right by the front door. I told her it was her exercise for the day.

Backtracking a bit….in Taos, we asked several gallery owners where we should eat lunch. We wanted a fun, local place. We got names of several restaurants on or near the Plaza, but they were all tourist spots. Then a fellow gave us the name of a restaurant called “Orlandos” which is just out of town that all the locals go to. OMG…which means “old men grunt”…I think. Anyway, we drove away from town, about two miles, through road construction and a not too attractive part of town, but came upon Orlandos and pulled in to the gravel parking lot. This was the best, bar none, Mexican food, and really inexpensive. It was sooooooooooooo good. That’s really why we haven’t gone out tonight for dinner….we’re still full.

As we sip our Frances Coppola merlot, we’re going to put our “soft clothes” on (as Nobie says) and maybe play a little dominoes….or maybe not.

On tomorrow to get past Elk City, Oklahoma. Keep the peace, sisters!


Advertisement



30th October 2008

Taos
Happy Birthday Debbie! Did you get a to-go menu from Orlandos for us poor Georgians? At least we could see what we are missing....Maybe yall could get a stint on the Food TV network? Yall be safe and know Walter and i are thinking of you both. Kathy, what is the definition of a Sante Fe redneck, btw?
30th October 2008

I hope Santa Fe treated you just as nicely the second time around. It was a pleasure to meet "Pearl's Girls" and continue the good times. And, thanks for making me smile. Ryan from Santa Fe...and the Chart House

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb