What You Do in Between


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
February 26th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"God gives you life and he'll take it away - what you do in between is your fault." This is what Philip - my wonderful Hispanic shuttle driver to Sante Fe - told me his grandfather said to him after a long, hard life of ranching in the hills.

Today was one of those days when I feel like I'm doing the right thing - that my life is going roughly towards the direction I want it to go, that I can take responsibility for my own happiness in the future. That there will be happiness. I can see writing residencies in New Mexico mountains and me as an older woman wearing outlandish jewellery and ponchos! I can see myself growing into the woman I've always wanted to be.

Santa Fe, as you can gather, gave me a beautiful, inspiring day - one of the finest. The scenery - sharp, snow-frilled mountains and undulating dry pale green grasslands - is utterly breathtaking and the town itself is so pretty, full of womanly apricot adobe buildings, art galleries and fine cottonwood trees (like something from an old Andrews Sisters' song!).

I spent the morning at the Georgia O'Keefe museum - the real reason I wanted to come here. The docent-led tour was so interesting and the pieces in the collection are delicious. I succumbed to some prints in the shop! I find O'Keefe herself as a woman artist, full of independent spirit and sensuality, such an exciting role model. I want to be a working artist until I'm 98 - and live with a young guy ( it was purely Platonic apparently ...). What a gal!

Whenever I've had reason to wish for a "real" career and tons of money lately, I have to hold onto the riches of this creative life I have which people, thankfully, seem to find so intriguing. I get to do this, I said to myself, several times today. I get to do this.

After a huge and cheap Mexican lunch at Tia Sophia's, I went on a walking tour with an elderly actress called Marilyn and another couple, wandering into lovely courtyards and hearing startling historical stories. I even sat in the NM senate - it seems to be getting a habit! I'm such a politico these days!

Later, Philip drove me home along with another woman called Narda, an illustrator. We had such a wonderful conversation about travel, creativity and life that Narda and I had dinner at the airport together - and she kindly paid! All three of us have threatened to stay in touch by e-mail which is nice. I have found a lot of friends these past few days!

I definitely want to return here and explore more. NM has entered me somehow. O'Keefe apparently bought a house which was falling down with trees through the roof purely because she liked the door! That's the way I react to the world - through impulse and instinct. I trust that part of me. Sometimes I act erroneously, but I always try to act from some deeper place of love rather not fear. It's tough as boots though! ( And, God, I want some cowboy boots!!)

Another shuttle driver to the airport today - journey on which I was accompanied by a NYC jazz musician who actually used the words "cats" and "out of sight"!) - also had some wisdom to declare. He said in NM people don't panic, get excited or hurry. A fantastic philosophy, in my ever so 'umble opinion. Philip was telling me I'm brave to travel alone - but maybe it's giving me bravery. Each day I have to begin again. Each day, my happiness is all my fault.





Advertisement



28th February 2007

Writing residencies!
...Hang on to that thought and pack me in your suitcase next time - growing older (and wiser) in a wonderfully artistic way in the mountains of NM is my lifeplan too! Okay, so you like solo travel; we can inhabit separate mountains. I have a cunning scheme to escape much of the British winters! You can tell this trip is a tonic for you, your journal writing shines with beauty and wisdom. Go Girl! xxx

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb