#1--Through the Desert


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Roswell
July 26th 2011
Published: August 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to ArizonaWelcome to ArizonaWelcome to Arizona

(I actually ran across the street once I left Arizona because I wasn't able to pull over when I left California)
7/25/11
Phoenix, Arizona


Driving is Cathartic. This dawned on me while driving the 498 mile stretch from Long Beach to Paradise Valley (Phoenix) when I realized 300 miles in that I hadn’t been listening to any music or radio. I was lost in my thoughts, the desert scenery, my hopes for this trip.

This first day really captured my intent for this journey. As far as travel is concerned, I want to see more of the U.S.—especially the landscape of this beautiful country. I felt driving across it would be the best way to achieve that goal. By the end of this trek, I will have driven through 16 states.

I am doing this by myself, and participating in a 10-day silent Vipassana Meditation retreat because I want to take time to reflect on aspects of this last year, regroup and create a space to move forward in a positive and meaningful way. For the most part, my life has been working well, but I’d like to look closer at where I am in my spiritual walk and my intimate relationships.

In retrospect, I’ve kind of been passing through my own desert of sorts in these areas.
Friends for 20 yearsFriends for 20 yearsFriends for 20 years

Caleb and I enjoying old times and a bar in Phoenix
Spiritually, I have wondered around a bit, but am thirsty for something more. As far as relationships are concerned, I have made a conscientious choice to be single until this journey is completed. So far it has been 7 months—the longest stretch since I was 22. This intentional dry spell has forced me to reflect on hurts and damage of relationships past (both incurred and inflicted) in an effort to make better choices altogether.

Deserts are really quite beautiful if you can survive them, but I wouldn’t want to stay in one for too long.

I’ve learned (with a little help from Facebook) that I have friends in the desert and all over the nation, which is another purpose for taking this roadtrip—to visit friends and family in Arizona, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Georgia and Colorado.

On day 1, I visited Caleb, one of the first people I met at USC. He was a neighbor in my freshman dorm. Caleb now lives in Paradise Valley outside of Phoenix. We hadn’t seen each other for over 15 years but were reconnected through FB. I can’t really tell you much about Phoenix, but we had a great time hanging out: eating, drinking and chatting it up. I liked how in some ways, it seemed as if no time had passed. It felt like putting on an old, favorite glove and finding the fit both familiar and comfortable.

7/26/11
Roswell, New Mexico


The truth is out there…
And I think I discovered more truth on the 567 mile drive through Arizona and New Mexico then in the town made famous by a 1947 UFO crash.

The scenery along the way was stunning; so many shades of browns, tans, oranges and reds. At first it was all against a backdrop of blue sky, but towards the afternoon, clouds formed in the distance and added lightening to the landscape.

I took a detour to explore the White Sands National Monument—275 square miles of white gypsum dunes. I played in the “sand” for a bit and marveled at how these ever-changing dunes stretched for miles. I really wanted to see the nuclear testing craters at nearby Alamogordo, and spent an hour or so driving around the area without any luck. I was hoping this would increase my chances of being abducted on my way to Roswell, but this also proved
White SandsWhite SandsWhite Sands

Playing in the gypsum
futile.

The most pleasant surprise along the way was passing through Apache land. I recently befriended a member of the Apache tribe and heard his stories about New Mexico. Along my drive to Roswell, I was able to better connect with the things he shared. There was one stretch of road that seemed to become more of a forest and had grafitti art along the highway celebrating, “Honor your culture,” and “This is Apache Land.” I think I would like to explore more of this history, including Geronimo and his connection with the region.

The city of Roswell was as cheesy as I had hoped it would be, but much quainter than I expected. Driving into town, it was very clear that Roswell capitalizes on their only claim to fame: the crashing of a UFO in 1947 and the government cover-up that followed. The KFC in town has a giant green alien statue outside at the entrance and the billboard on the Wendy’s proudly welcomes all guests… humans and aliens alike. Many of the store windows are splashed with some sort of alien paraphernalia. But I enjoyed the main street, USA feel of their major intersection. The antique
In the UFO "museum"In the UFO "museum"In the UFO "museum"

observing an alien autopsy
shops and store-fronts seemed nostalgic and homey to me.

The big draw in Roswell, however, is the UFO research museum which tells the story of the crash, as well as other alien encounters. A lot of the framed displays were first and second-hand accounts including typed interviews, newspaper articles and affidavits. No Alien bodies or photos, but a few kitchy alien dummy displays and stories of how the government denied what many people say happened. The city of Roswell makes a big deal on the anniversary of the crash (the first week in July) and allows access to the crash site.

It’s all very interesting for sure. It really threatens some people’s ideas about religion and government. I am just bummed I didn’t have any close encounters of my own to add to the debate.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

They're here...They're here...
They're here...

My new alien friends


10th August 2011

Yay, another travel journal!
I love reading about your travels! You have such a great way of making me feel like I am there too. Thanks for taking so much time to share your experiences :) Have a great trip!
7th April 2014
Welcome to Arizona

Your cute, i love bald men, how are you doing jason

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb