Unique Birds in the Heart of the Meadowlands


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Birding is a passion of mine. It was amazing to be able to witness the many different species of birds that are in the Meadowlands. I took a pontoon boat tour and the amount of birds we came across was unbelievable. They ranged from mallards to geese to swans and even black and ruddy ducks. Surprisingly enough I was also able to see a red tailed hawk and the endangered Northern Harrier. The rich marshes are definitely a hidden wonder!

I was mesmerized at the beautiful views and landscapes from out on the Hackensack River as well as New York City as a backdrop to the marshes, reeds and wetlands. I could not believe that in the heart of the Meadowlands lies a great birding site. The pontoon boat tours were great because I was able to learn about the history of the land and get a close up view of the wildlife.

I look forward to going back before the summer is over as well as next spring so that I will be able to see the tall wading birds, and the egrets and herons when they make their annual visit to the Meadowlands.

Traveling was simple because after my trip the amount of dining choices I had was astonishing. It didn’t require driving far and the prices were very reasonable. I could find just about any type of restaurant that I wanted. My family and I were thinking about taking an expedition into New York since it is so close but there’s lots t do right here that we decided to stay.

You can find out more information about the NJ Meadowlands pontoon boat tours by visiting http://www.njmeadowlands.gov/environment/tours.html


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb