3 weeks and counting...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my travel blog!



...I know that my departure is still a few weeks away, but I wanted to get an early start. Exactly 3 weeks from today I will finally be departing from the states and the following day I will find my destination: Galway, Ireland.
What's in Ireland
...Once I arrive in Galway, I will be attending the University of Ireland, Galway. I will be enrolled at the University for 2 semesters, where I will study Literature, Culture, History, and maybe a bit of Psychology. What I really want is to understand another perspective. I want to live amongst a different cultural group and see the world through their eyes and experiences. Ireland is a country with a very diverse history. There have been many different groups of people that have settled and assimilated into the culture, creating a land of natural beauty, historic landmarks, ruins, and a culture rich in influence... and pubs. Since I was young I have always felt a connection with the country of Ireland, and the people that live there. Could it be my ancestral link to the country? Perhaps. I do have many primogenitors that called the Isles of Eyre home, however they all were long since dead when I was born. Being a native of the Boston area, much of the culture and history has been shaped by those who immigrated from Ireland during the Irish Diaspora. The suffering and triumphs of these people have always impressed me. The grit and tenacity of the Irish population has always captured my imagination. From this, I think, I developed my initial interest in Ireland. I love personality of the people and landscape of Ireland, and I will now finally be able to bring that to fruition.

... more on my trip later. I hope you have enjoyed reading my first entry and look forward to future publications 😊

Cheers,

Nicole


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb