Home again, home again, jiggity-jig


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The snows that the meteorologists promised for the Denver area didn't come. When I woke up at 6:00, I jumped to the window and breathed a sigh of relief to notice that the sky was cloudy and not a flake of snow had fallen overnight. Not bothering to eat breakfast because I was to anxious to get on the plane, I checked out of the hotel and made my way to Denver International Airport.

Once at my gate, I sat and waited, listening to people make cell phone calls. One woman was saying how another airline, in anticipation of the snow, canceled all their flights this morning. Ouch. Our plane finally arrived right on time and we filed on. I sat in the last row with a man who is a pilot for Southwest. The woman between us was feeling queezy during the turbulent portions of the trip, and the woman across the aisle was trying to tame her high anxiety about flying by strikiing up what turned out to be an interesting conversation to listen to with the pilot. Even the kid in front of us would turn around and interject a few comments, so the whole group of us got in on the act.

The pilot was a very nice, happily talkative gent who was more than happy to answer all our questions and share some laughs about air travel and piloting. Even the stewardess stood with us and talked it up. It sure made the 3+ hour flight go by quickly. All that remained was to fly the 45 minutes from Baltimore to Providence, and that's a nice flight because as soon as you're at cruising altitude, you start to decend again and just like that, you're back on the ground. The crew barely has time to serve the drinks.

Once I arrived at the house, Kathy and I packed the car and headed north to New Hampshire. Ahh... nothing but relaxation in the woods and the cool, crisp air of the mountains. Now THAT'S living. So after a three hour drive, I was sitting back in the recliner in the living room, happy to have this first of three trips behind me. Next month I travel to Cleveland and then on to Aragonite, Utah. My final trip is a couple of weeks after that when I go to Cincinnati and on to El Dorado, Arkansas. How lucky am I, huh? I don't have anyone to blame but myslef, though. My group has to take seven trips before mid-July, and I fell on the sword by taking three of them to the most God-forsaken facilities we have. One of my guys is taking two trips to Canada and the other two guys are taking one each.

Such is my corporate life. Once these trips are done, I don't think I'll be doing any travel any time soon, so I'm eager to just get them over and done with. So after touching seven states in five days and spending too many hours driving too many miles, I'm back with with Kathy and that's all that matters because no matter where I go, wherever she is is where I call home.

Advertisement



16th April 2007

Wow , we're gonna get more from the "Elk"?
You're gonna keep us informed on the next few trips, right? We love your blog. p.s. We had a great day in Ao Nang doing nothing but swinging in the hammock on the beach and sipping cold drinks. We really feel for you - tee hee!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb