Week 8 is almost over...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire » Keene
August 10th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Can't believe there is only one more week left of camp! The site crashed so my entries were lost but now they're back but my photo and comments are gone 😞

Alot has happened since I wrote last...

So last day off when I wrote... 24/7/07 we went to Otter brook Dam, a little lake with a beach so it was nice and relaxing.
Had another skit night with our bunks, ours was awful...
Started to get on quite well with my new kids, annoying they were only 2 weekers, I felt like they settled in and then had to leave!
Had a mission impossible evening... basically had to sit outside the LTGS cabin and wait for kids to come and complete their mission to send them off to the next station.
Played tribes capture the football... very intense, I had to defend the ball and at one point a kid got in and attempted to kick it over the line but it collided with my face... good save but was very concerned for my teeth... seem to be holding up ok and since then I have bought a $1 mouth guard!
A chipmunk was in our room one night so all the kids woke up screaming, then I got scared and the screams were even louder, so i ended up standing on a trunk with a broom and a torch in my hands. I got into trouble for gettng the kids hyped up... Next morning we found a mouse in the bin and when it got released it could only walk in circles! The kids wanted it as a pet... heck no!
Had a night off so went for some Thai and to see Hairspray for a second time!
Tanya's birthday so we head to her house again, her, me and 7 of our close friends. Had a hawaiian themed lunch which was fun. Her neighbour let us go in the hot tub. Booked flights from Boston to Maimi on the 21st, the day after camp, but no confirmation number came through so doesnt look like it worked.
Back to camp the next day and we all head on a yellow school bus to the Jaffrey fair, I was on dunk tank duty... managed 10 minutes keeping dry then a big hillbilly called Fred dunked me, kept banging my arm and it smelt like fish..
The kids played Lazer Tag, 'not enough equipment for counsellors to join in' yeah right...
One of the worst days of my life... packing 6 kids up to go home... they take so much junk for only 2 weeks. Not pleasant. Was the kids last ngiht so we had a mini party with sweets and glowsticks in our room.
Kids left, not as sad as my first bunch cos I didnt know them as well. I was asked to move upstairs but decided not to as there isnt much room, so now i'm still downstairs on my own.
Had Apache relays, power walking to different stations across camp and trying to be the first team back to the front field, I had a really good team and we won! Very exciting cos we got lots of points for our tribe.
Had Miss Wa-klo 2007, Sam, a counsellor from Phili and I did 'L if for' and dressed up as the little rascals, we won! hooray!
Camper vs Counsellor football game was disapointing, they played 11 aside so there wasnt alot of time of the pitch. Campers won 1-0.
Had another night off, just dinner and internet.
Upper Camp went to the boys camp so we got an extra free period, was really hot so went in the lake and sunbathed. Saw a snapping turtle! So cool, but good job they stay away from noise cos they can bite.
So now on our last day off... Its raining so just got breakfast and trying to sort out some flights and stuff for after camp. Booked my flight home... quite sad actually. Leave JFK on the 17th and arrive in Glasgow on the 18th but thinking I'll get another flight Heathrow to Aberdeen to save too much travel.
So next time I write who knows where I'll be, looks like Miami so far!
xx

Advertisement



19th August 2007

Hey!!!
Hey misses...so hows camp been? Are you looking forward to coming home? The weather here has been crap, so you havent missed much! Must get together when you get back! missed yah..*mwah* xxxx

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb