070707 Great Basin National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I left Vegas around noon after running around a bit to Big 5 to buy some more clothes and the dollar store for some more junk. I've got everything in my truck, my bike, a bunch of clothes, blankets and pillow, all of my camping & backpacking gear, food box, ice chest, and laptop bag.

It took about 6 hours to drive the three hundred and some odd miles. I took my time and stopped at a couple of places, like Cathedral Gorge that were interesting, but I only have a limited amount of photospace on this site, so I'm not posting those pictures.

I got to Baker Nevada about 5:30 and it took about another 30 minutes to climb the twelve miles up Wheeler Peak and find a campsite. There were three camping areas, I opted to camp at the top so I could see the glacier during a morning hike tomorrow. Luckily I got the last campsite in the top camping area. The campsite was at about 10,000 feet and it was definitely chilly when the sun went down behind the mountains. The place was beautiful, there were Golden Aspens, Douglas Fir, and smattering of Spruce everywhere.

I made a small fire to warm up and read for a little while. I went to sleep not long after dark, knowing I wanted to get up early. I didn't even set my tent up, I just took some of my gear out fo the back of my truck and left the tail down and slept on my thermarest and some blankets. It was defintiely cold, but with my 20 degree bag I was plenty warm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb