Burns, OR to Wells, NV


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Wells
September 2nd 2015
Published: September 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Burns, OR to Wells, NV



Who's idea was this anyway? Going into Nevada in the summer is crazy! I wanted to get NV on my state map, the states I've camped in, and it was just a short hop to NV then on to Utah and I get 2 states I've not been in yet. Don't know how much time it added to the trip but the scenery was not my favorite and it is hot and dry and very windy. Good thing there is nobody on the road because I got blown over 1/2 a lane even though I was being very careful. Sudden gusts come out of nowhere.

I left Burns about 10, I am slow to move, and headed south on 78 which was a very smooth 2 lane 55 mph road through sage brush with an occasional hill. We climbed to 4,332 ft and passed what was supposed to be Malheur Lake but is now a dark spot on the earth. It looks very sizable on the map but was dried up and looking barren. There was some irrigating of crops going on here and there, don't know where that water comes from.

This is the high desert. Cool at night and blasting hot during the day with little or no wildlife in sight. There was an occasional hawk or raven and I did see a dead coyote on the road. Early in the trip there was a herd of deer way out in the field and a few antelope further on and the poor cattle that are stranded in those awful conditions. In the heat of the day they just stood there with their head hanging, calves in their mother's shadow. They did look good though, well fed with shiny coats. There was a line of cows going someplace with a trail of dust behind them. This is not my idea of a desirable location.

I stopped in Winnemucca, NV to get gas and get some groceries at Walmart. I loved the name, like saying it, I'll have to find out what it means. I picked up 80 and headed east.

It was another 2 hrs to get to Wells and I found a campground for the night right off the highway. It is cheap but the electric is right on voltage and the bathroom works. There are 6 overnighters here, all heading out in the morning so I felt safe. I can touch the neighbor's rv. Oh and to complete the picture, there is a freight train right across the street that will run several trains during the night. I'm so tired I'll sleep through anything. It was another long driving day, 8 1/2 hrs with stops and 401 miles. I'll see if I have another long driving day in me tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

kinda pretty if it wasn't so hot and drykinda pretty if it wasn't so hot and dry
kinda pretty if it wasn't so hot and dry

This is part of the California trail. Those poor pioneers walked this high desert land to get to California.


3rd September 2015

Burns
Been to Burns. As I remember it was a long time between gas stations. See you soon.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb