Into the desert


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Reno
September 25th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Black Rock Desert 16 secs

1 additional video(s) currently being processed
Hi All,

Last weekend I visited Pyramid Lake and Black Rock Desert which is in Northern Nevada. It was an amazing place, very cool landscape and I had lots of fun with my 2 friends Emma and Susanna. We saw some lizards but no snakes unfortunately (I really want to see some snakes)!

Pyramid Lake is on an Indian reserve in what feels like the middle of nowhere. We stopped off at a gas station and we were the only car there. It felt like something out of a movie. The roads were all so long and straight and we probably passed about 8 cars in 2 hours on the way to the desert. We camped right next to the lake and made ourselves a very impressive camp fire. We then woke up early and ran into the freezing lake at about 8am - that's one way to wake yourself up!

The desert was quite surreal. Everything is so quiet and it's certainly not somewhere you would want to get lost. I have included a little video so you can all see (and hopefully hear) how empty it is. As we were approaching the desert we could see a number of cars speeding around on the playa. This looks like it would be amazing fun but we decided against doing it ourselves as we were in a rental car.

My week of work has been frustrating as I'm still injured. I've spent much of the week being driven to the doctors and having physical therapy (or physio to us English). My back is on the mend and feels much better though it looks like I'll be on light duty for the next 2 weeks. Grrrr. I really want to get back into it and continue digging trail but I guess I'll just be sat up straight, crushing rocks for a while.

Tomorrow we're off to Virginia City (not too far from Reno) and next weekend we'll be visiting San Francisco for a free bluegrass festival. It's a type of country music which is huge in this neck of the woods. I have actually been listening to so much country (who'd of thought it) and I'm getting quite into some of the songs. It certainly fits when driving through some of this landscape.

A selection of cheerleaders have just entered the library... something you don't often see in the library. Tonight is the first game for the Wolfpack (the university football team). College football is massive here and the brass band are preparing as I speak!

Anyway, better go and catch some more sun.

Lots of love x x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th September 2009

photo's
Hi Collette, What amazin photo's I'm quiet jellous, still sat in bed catchin up on all your news and photo's, perhaps I'd best go now, glad your having fun and seeing so much. X
27th September 2009

Hi
Hi Collette Sorry to hear your back is not quite back to normal yet. Just looked at your photos they are amazing. We are really enjoying keeping up with all you are doing. Love Marilyn and Peter

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb