Day 1 - A Day of Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Reno
May 8th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - A Day of Travel

I was a little concerned about the Swine Flu outbreak as the days grew closer for my flight to Reno. If you are going to catch an airborne virus, the best place is an airplane where you are breathing the same air over and over again. I decided that if I boarded the plane and saw no pigs, I was good to go. There were no pigs, unless you count the big fat man that barely fit down the isle.

One of he reasons I love to travel is because I love to watch and study people. So after arriving in Reno and picking up my rental SUV, I headed straight for Wal-Mart. Is there any better place to watch people and learn about the area? I think not! After spending a few minutes in Wal-Mart, I had a pretty good idea about this strange, arid place. It is so dry that if you spit, it will evaporate before it hits the ground.

Now I don't want to offend anyone from Reno, but this place just isn't it for me. I am sure there are many wonderful people living in Reno, and I am happy for them. I'm just glad I am not one of them. If you ask me, I would say there are three places on Earth:

1) Places people dream of visiting someday
2) Places people dream of leaving someday
3) Home..for better or for worse, it is still home

I would place Reno in category #2 (no pun intended). I just can't imagine someone aspiring to save their money and visit Reno. The thing I liked best about the place was seeing it in the rear view mirror. My journey had to begin somewhere though, and Reno was it.

As my friend, hero, and mentor Ed Smith might say, "The best part of Nevada is in California."

I did not even find the place worthy of taking one picture. Aight! Enough said!

Back to the travel day for a moment. It was great to gain 3 hours flying from Atlanta to Reno. My worst fear has come to fruitition though. I went to bed at Pacific time and work up at my normal Central time. It was a short night!

Tomorrow, I will journey to Yosemite National Park. I will come in from the east side of the Park via Lee Vining, CA. I intend to spend the day there and drive back to Carson City, NV for the night.

Wayne's words of wisdom for the day, "Why did the chicken cross the road? To get the hell out of Reno."



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb