A Change in Plans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Talladega
May 3rd 2009
Published: May 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lost in America
March 2009
H. Wayne Cleghorn


After deciding to drive from Reno, NV to Colorado on Highway 50, I booked my flight to Reno and return flight to Atlanta. Then I started a close examination of what lie on Highway 50 between eastern Nevada and central Utah. To my surprise, almost nothing. There are very few gas stations, and even fewer hotels. My options were to gas up at the last gas station in Nevada and hope I could make it to the first gas station in Utah. Visions of me walking away from a rental car with an empty gas tank kept dancing in my head.

So, I made an executive decision. I would still fly to Reno, but instead of driving east, I would drive west. I decided to drive through nothern California, through Oregon, and on to Seattle. I will go ahead and admit that I did use a travel planner website to get a rough idea of a route to Seattle.

Being the fairly organized person that I am, I immediated started planning where I would spend every single night. Then after all that work, I tought "wait a minute...you aren't lost if you know where you will be every single night". So, I cancelled every single room reservation. When it gets dark or I'm too tired to drive, I will find a place to sleep even if it is in the back seat of my rental car.

So that is the plan. I fly out of Atlanta, GA on Friday, May 8th and return on Saturday, May 16th. What lies in between those two dates? Check in every day and you will find out, assuming I am not sleeping in the car and can't update the blog. :-)

Wayne

Advertisement



5th May 2009

Bless His Heart
I cannot wait for the adventure to start for my dear husband! Although I admit some aprehension about him going alone (especially when he couldn't find our hotel in New Orleans and I had to point us in the right direction.) I am reccomending that you take your passport with you in case you make a wrong turn North and end up in Canada or South and end up in Mexico--At least the Pacific Ocean is there to keep you from going too far West. Just three days and the adventure begins. As your wife I will miss you more than you know but as your friend I am excited for you and look forward to your "adventure" almost as much as you are. : ) I love My Hot Wayne!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb