Leaving Las Vegas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
September 29th 2011
Published: August 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Las Vegas has worn me out.

This city is an endless sea of experience, around the clock.

Overload eventually sets in, followed by burnout.

I’m now quite exhausted.

Happy, certainly, but also physically spent.

My guidebook mentions that three days is more than enough for most people.

I’m ready to go.



I did allow myself one luxury indulgence today.

Remember that during slow periods luxury comes cheaper in Las Vegas than almost anywhere else.

That includes the spas (the legitimate ones, people).

I dropped the cash for a hot stone massage, which felt really good after being constantly on the go for the last three days.

It was well worth the cost.



I switched hotels tonight.

I did it mostly for budgetary reasons, but it also provides an important psychological transition.

The big resorts like the Venetian are a self-contained luxury world.

Moving to a more normal hotel within the city eases the transition to what I will once again experience outside it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb