LAS VEGAS & HOOVER DAM


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
January 7th 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I also did the tourist things like see the Flamingos, the Dolphins and the Lion Cubs, plus check out the shops.

On the last 2 days in Vegas I met my friend who lives there, and I went to stay at her place. She drove me to the Hoover Dam which was only half full due to L.V. having had a 7 year drought, and we had lunch along the way in Boulder City. The bridge across Hoover Dam was SO impressive with both of us admiring good engineering.

In the evening we went to dinner at the Tao, a superb restaurant in the Venetian, where one of the mediocre priced bottles of Pinot Noir was $75, food was absolutely fantastic and almost worth the $200 bill, and later kicked onto the Tao Nightclub which is the "In" place at the moment. The Tao Nightclub is a real hassle to get into, even if you're eating in the restaurant you still have to have the right stamp on your wrist to get in. However, as the age limit seemed to be early 20s, we didn't even stay for a drink (no-one likes to feel old afterall).

My 2nd day with my friend was spent lazily, which is exactly what I needed, and the following day I was off again, this time to Honolulu for 6 days of luxury at the Sheraton Waikiki. As my 7 hour flight was first thing in the morning, it meant a 5.00 a.m. rise - so by the time I'd checked into the Hotel in Waikiki, it was 4.30 in the afternoon and almost an entire day was wasted on travelling.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Hoover DamHoover Dam
Hoover Dam

The white mark on the cliff is where the Dam water was.


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb