Snowboarding in Las Vegas...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
February 11th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DestinationDestinationDestination

I think Mt.Charleston is in the distance
Wednesday 11th February 2009

I took advantage of the recent snow (rain in Vegas) and got up to the local slope (Las Vegas Ski - 45 mins drive from us). It was a weekday so not very busy, but still $50 a go (and I have my own kit).

I had a great few hours, but soon became bored without someone else to play with. I'd have been entertained more if I had played on the jumps etc, but after what happened in NZ in 2006 I decided against it (and wore a helmet this time).

It took me a while to get my mojo but I was nowhere near as good as before the accident :-(
I also decided that at $50 a go snowboarding is not a sport for the unemployed. So that is probably my 'fix' for 2009...

One highlight (apart from the great chilli an beer!) was the beads and bras that had been thrown from the lift chairs in to the nearby trees - who said US girls were prudish!? ;-)

Rather timid video here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

the home oppositethe home opposite
the home opposite

(I kid you not!)
The slopesThe slopes
The slopes

Not very busy!
RoutesRoutes
Routes

Not many, but nice to have so close to home
Driving downDriving down
Driving down

A nice view driving down from the ski area


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb