Timeshare and Quinten Tarantino


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
April 23rd 2007
Published: April 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We plan to have a rest today. No driving, no maps, no McDonalds/Burger King/Wendy's (and we complain about motorway service stations!). After checking out the local cinema and planning to see Grindhouse we take a walk along the strip to kill time. We're approached by a guy who want's to give us a 'free gift'. At this point alarm bells should be ringing, but we stupidly follow him off the strip and into an office, he passes us onto another guy who chats a bit and then launches into his timeshare speech. We try to duck out but he's having none of it and I feel quite intimidated so we sign up for a tour later this afternoon and hand over a $40 refundable deposit. As we walk away Kev is obviously distracted and pissed off. I tell him not to worry about it and after walking around for about half an hour we realise that if we go to the stupid presentation and pick up our 'free gifts' (a buffet dinner and some gift vouchers for Planet Hollywood, which we don't really want or need) we'll miss the movie. I suggest we go back to the guy and ask to go now, which we do. We're driven to the back of the Planet Hollywood hotel and taken to a very plush reception area for the timeshare. I'm filling out some forms and there's a box that asks if we were aware of the 'timeshare presentation' I go to tick yes, but Kev says no. At this point I finally lose it, the poor girl behind the desk asks me if there's a problem and I tell her, that yes there is. After a small bout of complaining she refunds our money and we leave. There's just time to pick up tickets and we're off to Grindhouse. I can't remember the last time I saw a good Tarantino film but I love Death Proof, much much more than Planet Terror, which surprises me. I'm not saying Planet Terror isn't good, but Death Proof had me on the edge of my seat. I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it. We leave the cinema happy and return to the hotel for dinner and another early night. We're off the the Grand Canyon tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb