First Blog - - Ever


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Lake Tahoe
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me y Martin en Lake TahoeMe y Martin en Lake TahoeMe y Martin en Lake Tahoe

Newly weds just one month after our wedding on the beach near our home in Lake Tahoe.
This is my first blog ever....I mean, I tried to blog before but it never seemed to quite work out for me. I have not set out on my journey yet; we will leave in August from Lake Tahoe and drive to the Yucatan in Southern Mexico. The reason? I was awarded an Ambassadorial Scholarship from Rotary International to study for one-year abroad. My husband, Martin, will finish up his dive certifications.

I guess, if pressed, I'd have to say that I am a bit nervous to travel all the way through Mexico, especially in August, as newly weds, for a whole month. There are so many unknowns. Which is both good and bad. Don't get me wrong, I've traveled before. I've been on three self-supported bike trips through W. Europe. I've traveled through E. Europe on my own. I've been to parts of Mexico. And I lived in Argentina for 8 months on my own.

But there is something so inexplicable that hits a person the months leading up to departure. Conversations among friends are different, your work-mates and colleagues look at you differently...everything seems to focus on the fact that you are living here now, but you've got one foot in this world and one foot out the door. I mean, you have to plan after all.

So, we are planning our route (pretty easy to do) and making adjustments to the vehicle. Oh, the vehicle. Now that is interesting....see Martin is actually retrofitting (and installing an engine) into this '92 Chevy. We will put a camper shell on the back, with a bed frame and cooler and load it with tons of stuff and equipment on top. He's even designed a water piping system that will not take up much space but provide sufficient, clean supply. If I can remember to do it, I will scan a picture of his drawings then, once built show the picture of the truck loaded up.

Well, I guess this is sufficient rambling for a travel blog when I've yet to start off on the journey. I look forward to the entire experience; I cannot wait to reach the end of this journey and see if I really do end up back where I first started, like TS Elliott said.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb