Weekend adventures


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Henderson
August 4th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The rest of last week was spent in Barstow. I actually had to stay until Friday. Think they are kinda running out of things for us to do sometimes. Anyway, it wasn't too bad. Having the dog made it totally ok. 😊 We were basically finished on Wednesday but Thursday morning we all went out to plot 5 and spent nearly 2 hours looking for a missing tortoise. No luck this time though. Sad. 😞 Then Felicia Angela and I headed over to do plot 3. After that we were done for the day! Back at the house I just did more relaxing. Finished getting caught up on Greys Anatomy.... still not sure why I did that. Although it did start getting better towards the end of Season 5. And then I was crying hysterically at the last few episodes. lol. Oh tv. Friday we got up, cleaned the house packed and left. Stopped at plot 11 to look for a missing tortoise for a while, again, no luck. Then back to the office! Was back at the apartment by 2pm. Basically just relaxed for the rest of the day. At night Felicia came over to use our internet and we talked for a bit. She is very nice. And has never seen Finding Neverland (what is with all these people never having seen it?! Its such a good JD movie and it is recent and not weird!) so we are going to try to watch that at some point. Also, her housemates have a nice HD tv with surround sound so we think we are going to have a Planet Earth party at some point. Super excited for that!

Saturday was a big adventure, to be sure. Alex went to visit a friend in Cali for the weekend and Julia was still on her vacation so it was just me and Gloria, sans a car. I was feeling the need to get out and do something, so we did. We decided to be brave. Left the apartment around 10am and walked 3 miles to a movie theater. It actually wasn't bad walking there at all. Possibly because it was still morning and thus only about 95 degrees. Anyway, got to the theater by before 11, and saw The Ugly Truth, because for some reason I had been wanting to see it. I think just because I like Katherine Heigl. Anyway, it was funny and cute. Predictable. But still entertaining. Although I think that I did like The Proposal better. So yeah after that we walked to Arby's, which is right nearby, for lunch. I got to have curly fries! Yay! It was quite exciting. Even though they weren't TJ's curly fries. They are the next best thing. Before we left we got a chocolate shake and split it for the walk back. That was quite nice, although it pushed me over the edge and made me r-diculously full. Which made things slightly uncomfortable. Plus, the walk back was occurring in the heat of the day. It was slightly terrible. But we survived. Stopped at Walmart on the way back to get some groceries. Spent a while in there just trying to cool down and regain some energy. The last mile back to the apartment was a bit trying (would've been worse if we were carrying the groceries, but we were pushing them in a shopping cart) but we made it. In some lucky twist of fate a street in our neighborhood had some sprinkler type things on so we were able to cool off via water on the legs and arms and face. It is amazing how much more bearable walking is when you are wet. Makes the wind kinda lovely. So the last few minutes of the walk were quite pleasant. Spent the rest of the day collapsed on the futon. Around 8:30 Felicia's friend Brant (the one I went hiking with back in the day) came and picked us up and brought us to Bryant's house. Bryant was having a housewarming/birthday gathering. It was quite nice. Some people from work were there as well as Felicia's friends. It was fun. Hung out talking and then played a little Tripole again. And discovered another fruity hardly alcoholic drink that I like.. Smirnoff Ice. The green apple one tastes exactly like a jolly rancher. hehehe. 😊 Left there around 11:30.

I slept for a r-diculous amount of time on Sunday. about 12 hours. Craziness. Spent the rest of the day just lazing around pretty much. Julia got back around 9:30 and I borrowed her car to go return some books to the library. Alex didn't get back til after 11. Which sucked for him because he was going to have to get up around 4 the next day. However, I did not. This week is a bit strange for me. It is bleed week but I am not in Barstow with everyone else. Kristina asked me to switch with Brian and do the night tracking again with Sarah. I was all for it since I actually kinda like it. But it is still weird missing a bleed week and not being with everyone else.

The night tracking is even better this time because she has made the hours even more reasonable. Still no hours in the heat of the day which is nice. Yesterday the shift was 5pm til 1am. I left here around 3:15 and walked to the office, got my equipment, got the vehicle and drove to meet Angela. The shift wasn't bad at all, especially because it was quite cloudy, and so it wasn't too hot. We were also putting some sticks into burrows (part of Sarah's research), so that took some time and made it so I was a bit rushed, but I still nearly made 3 rounds. I didn't get to my 6th tortoise a 3rd time because that last tortoise was nearly a km away and then it is 1.5km back to the car, so that would've made me nearly an hour late. As it was, I was still 10 minutes late getting back to the car. But other than that it was a fine night. On the way back I stopped at the post office to drop something off for Sarah. Then I ate a bit of food when I got home before going to sleep. Today I will leave here around 3, because we are going to try starting at 4 instead of 5, in the hopes that it will be slightly less rushed. Again the shift will go until 1am. Then I get wednesday off and don't have another shift until 1am on thursday morning. From 1am-11am. Last shift will be Friday morning, 1am-5am. So, the rest of this week really shouldn't be too bad. Yay! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb