Bats and tortoises that play dead


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Henderson
August 7th 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The rest of my night tracking was actually kinda exciting! One night a bat flew right past me! I was thrilled. Obviously. 😊 Then a pretty uncool thing happened, although it all turned out okay. During thursday's shift, I thought that one of my tortoises was dead. Which was odd because it had been fine 24hours early. But when I tracked to it on thursday it was flipped over. I assumed that since it was on its back and not moving at all, that it was dead. I couldn't get ahold of Sarah on the radio and so I wasn't sure what to do so I just left it. The rest of the night I didn't track it. Which saved me time because it was the furthest one out. When we were done I told Sarah and she asked if I turned it over. I had not. She decided to go out to it to make sure it was dead. When we met this morning at 1am I asked her about it and apparently it was not dead! Craziness! Then I felt terrible because it totally could've died since I didn't flip him over. Luckily, he as fine, managed to flip himself back over somehow I guess. But I still felt terrible. Turns out he moved about 100meters and was in a burrow. So I guess he is fine. Very odd. Anyway, the other thing of importance is the fact that it was actually cool last night/this morning! When I left the apartment at midnight I stepped outside and was like oh my goodness it feels nice out! It was lovely. And apparently about 80 degrees. But it got cooler as I drove out to the site, and then it got even colder as the night progressed. It was splendid. I was wearing short sleeves and I was actually cold! As in, I had goose bumps! I was much too excited about this. lol. It was so wonderful!! I'm thinking it probably was in the low 60s. Maybe even the upper 50s! Perhaps this will continue. Maybe the rest of August and September will be a bit cooler. That'd be nice. 😊

So yeah, overall it was a good week. When I wasn't tracking I was either sleeping or just relaxing. I am super stoked because on Wednesday everyone was back from bleed week and a book that I had put on hold at the library back in june, came in! And so we went on a library run. I haven't started it yet, but I plan to today. I'm super excited. It is the newest book by Chuck Palahiuk. He is one of my favorite authors. At least at the moment. So yeah, I'm excited to read it. Also got 2 other of his books. And I still have The Razor's Edge to read. We'll see how many of these I get through. hehe.

Tonight we may go into Vegas. I'm not entirely sure. But if we do I'll write about it. Oh and I'm excited because Gloria is all for seeing Cirque du Soleil, so hopefully we'll be able to do that at some point before I go. Also, possibly going to go to Bryce Canyon for a camping trip one weekend. Maybe. Have been talking about meeting up there with one of my friends from college who is out in Colorado for an internship. So that would be fun. I feel like there is so much I want to see and do and so little time to do it in. Time is just flying so fast! But hopefully I'll get to do at least some of the stuff. That'd be nice. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb