Goodbye Peru & Hello Christmas at Home!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Elko
December 26th 2015
Published: December 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Back in the good ol' United States just in time for Christmas in this winter wonderland that is to be found at the base of the Ruby Mountains. I learned a lot about myself, about Peru and about life in general on this latest trip. As is my way, I did learn most of these lessons the hard way. My lack of preparation, perhaps better described as complacency, is responsible for both our Bolivian visa saga as well my extreme altitude sickness. I did enjoy seeing the landscape and the differences between Bolivia and Peru as well as intra-country differences between the Lake Titicaca region, Machu Picchu and the Nazca area. Peru is definitely one of the more developed of the developing countries I've been to and I do believe that with greater investment in infrastructure and education, this country is going to be a leader in the global south.

I also had a pretty close call with my health and will probably avoid high elevations in the future given my extreme reaction to them. I'm home now, recovering, and have uploaded my photos to my previous blog entries.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Years to you and yours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb