Banff's Mountains, Waterton's Glaciers, and Montana's....Flatness


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Long time no write.

I don't know what it is, but I guess that feeling like I am not really in too foreign a place doesn't beg me to write it all down. But that isn't to say a lot hasn't happened since I last did an entry, it just means that nothing too alien has happened. Unless you count the rockies.

Driving into Banff from Kelowna was extraordinary (if a little chilly). I was finally on my own, since my housemate Bryce went back to Vancouver as I pressed on. When I left it was hot - a good twenty five degrees - and as I climbed into the postcard peaks I was often surrounded by snow. Something that you ho-hum in a car but you chatter and shiver on a motorcycle. Along the way to Banff - a seven hour drive - another Honda Shadow 1100 started tailing me and, when stopping at a much needed gas stop, was open to meeting me and soon we were cruising together in formation through the dusk-coloured rockies.

I got to a hostel in Banff only an hour or so from sundown and was glad to help myself to a stiff drink and a mini-pizza from the bar downstairs. Within about fifteen minutes I had made plans with a girl called Courtney to go to the hotsprings the next day - I was off to a good start!

Without going into too many details, most of my time spent in Banff (somewhere around 9 days) was with a great group of Germans - Mark, Christina, and Jan (pronounced "yan") - who made a habit of getting up early and hiking the many trails around Banff. We had a fantastic time together and were joined at the hips for almost the entire time in the park. But, all good things must come to an end, and after a painful goodbye (I loved this hostel!) I was back on the road with a buddy on a Ducatti bike on my way to Calgary.

Let's just forget about Calgary. I have been trying to since I left.

I scooted on down to Waterton Lakes National Park and setup my tent at the local campground. I was there only one night but enjoyed crusing around the various glaciated peaks around the park. After such an incredibly social time at the last hostel I was glad to be on my own, although I did give a certain blonde a nice ride on Le Doigt. I may not be a chick magnet, but I am pretty sure that there is one in the muffler or something of that bike...

Yesterday I crossed the border and spent the whole day driving through Montana until the rain set in. Northern Montana really is the wild west: rotting cars litter the roadside like a not-so-rare weed; I didn't see a cop the entire day; people don't need to wear helmets while motorcycling; there are as many gun shops as laundromats; and twice I have been pegged as Canadian from my accent. Finally I am a foreigner again! Woohoo! The terrain was incredibly flat, making for the longest dotted-lines I have ever seen (which were used more against me than by me - no cops, remember!?). Once it started raining I found a cheap motel with WiFi and spent a night in bed resting up. Today I am tying up loose ends with work and then I am off to do as much eastward travel as I can.

Ciao for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

BanffBanff
Banff

Ze Germans
BanffBanff
Banff

Ze Germans
BanffBanff
Banff

Ze Germans
BanffBanff
Banff

Ze Germans
Fort Macload, AlbertaFort Macload, Alberta
Fort Macload, Alberta

Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump
Fort Macload, AlbertaFort Macload, Alberta
Fort Macload, Alberta

Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump
Fort Macload, AlbertaFort Macload, Alberta
Fort Macload, Alberta

Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump


Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 92; dbt: 0.2638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb